Vietnamese Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
very good but also found this to be wet like the other reviewers. i followed all the measurements as directed but added about 3/4 cup of panko. they came out great, save for my smoke detector going off every time i opened the oven to check on them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
I followed the recipe without modification. The meatballs were very good and just as I remembered them. I first had them at a Vietnamese restaurant and was looking to duplicate them. The only negative comments I got were about texture. However, the texture was correct for the dish. I chalk it up to only being familiar with Italian or Swedish meatballs. Best eaten with a Vietnamese fish sauce based dipping sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bloomfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
I halved the recipe. From other suggestions, I added some bread crumbs and skipped the fish sauce and oil. Had to bake in the oven as I was not able to get them to stick to the skewers. Served them over Jasmine Rice. No one really cared for them, but ate the rice. I wish I had some suggestion for making this better. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misty

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
Great recipe! Yes, there are a lot of liquids that make it hard to form balls and put on a skewer. I mixed the ground chicken with a pound of italian sausage, omitted the egg and stuck with the rest of the ingredients which gave it great flavor. I also added some bread crumbs so they could form better and just fried them in a pan. Will definitely make again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
Way too wet. Added bread crumbs and it just tasted like rubber.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
These are just fantastic - great as meatballs but even better as filling for dumplings! Throw one piece of bread in the mixture if you are making meatballs. So so so great. Will make these again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
These are really good with some modifications. I too think they're too wet, so I just added some cracker crumbs. I didn't have fish sauce so I used oyster sauce, and it was great! I make these often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
Too wet for skewers, but I baked at 350 fot 30-40 minutes. Added onions, more fish sauce, and msg, and used rice vineagar instead of rice wine. Next time, I will cover them for most of the cooking time to prevent the outside from drying up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
Yup, way too wet (I even omitted the Worcestershire sauce, and halved the rice wine). The flavor was lacking, and I didn't like the texture. Not a hit in our house. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
I agree with other reviewers - this is way too wet. I have no idea how you'd put it on skewers. An ingredient was left out for binding (oatmeal, bread crumbs, etc) or the directions are incorrect (heat to make the corn starch thicken?). On a 1 lb recipe, I had to add 1/2 cup of quick oats and 1/4 cup of panko bread crumbs to even come close to making a meatball. I served them with peanut sauce (a combo of recipes from here). They were really good - after the additions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JulieCC

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Fresh Vietnamese Vermicelli Bowl

See how to make a super-fresh Vietnamese noodle bowl.

Vietnamese Spring Rolls with Dipping Sauce

See how to make beautiful Vietnamese spring rolls.

World's Fastest Meatballs

Make delicious meatballs, the super-fast way!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States