Vietnamese Fresh Spring Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
Love theses and love the versitility of what you can put in them...when I want something really tasteful but without a ton of meat, I eat these veggie style. They are still wonderful - esp. with the fish sauce for dipping. You cannot beat mint, basil, and cilantro. I also usually squeeze a lemon wedge onto the filling before closing it - so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
I followed the recipe to the T and they were better than anything I've ever ordered in a restaurant. I used both sauces with every bite. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Sepeda
Living In: Millbrook, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Frickin' AMAZING!! And so much fun for the family to make the way each person wanted! We often order these from our local Vietnamese restaurants, and they have always looked rather complicated. Even after reading this recipe, I was skeptical about my ability to make them, but they turned out great! Water for rice paper didn't even need to be warm, but as others cautioned...they just need a dip, not a long soak. We made them with the basic items from the recipe (except the basil because we didn't have it and the lettuce because we had enough other ingredients), but we also mixed and matched some additional ingredients for fun/variety. We used leftover ground turkey (from the Asian Lettuce Wraps recipe on this site), jalepenos, bean sprouts, julienned carrots and cucumber slices. For the dip, we only used a hoisin/peanut butter/chopped cashew mix. Can't wait to make them for my next party!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BCJANGULO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
These were great! We used to go to a little Vietnamese place and always ordered these. When we moved I was convinced I had to try to make these at home. I could not find Thai basil so I had to leave that out. These were still really good, so if you can't find Thai basil, don't worry! The sauces were spot on! My husband loves the fish sauce and I love the peanut sauce, so this was perfect. Thank you so much for a fantastic recipe, I will be making these again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moore, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Globe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
Fabulous! I hosted a dinner party where we assembled these together as an ice breaker activity. I prepped all the vegetables (including shredded carrots and julienned cucumber) and fillings ahead of time, and everyone rolled their own rolls, choosing whatever they wanted. I made the sauce from the recipe (yum!), as well as the 2 parts hoisin, 1 part peanut butter sauce recommended by another reviewer. It was a hit! Everyone was very enthusiastic. I will definitely do them as a party activity again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Farmington, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
This was a hit and I've made it twice. Takes a while to assemble, a little labor intensive. I used the 2 parts hoisin sauce, 1 part peanut butter sauce as one reviewer suggested and it was delicious-I wasn't about to spend the time it takes making the sauce from the recipe but I'm sure they were good as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shanaT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Very good and fresh tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
These are AWESOME
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mkaty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Erie, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
For the dipping sauce: 2 parts water, 1 part fishsauce, 1 part peanut butter, 1 part lemon juice, splash of sesame oil, very thinly sliced red peppers, palmsugar or (maple) syrup to taste, handful of chopped coriander. For a cheap version: use surimi instead of shrimps. For a lo-carb version: leave out the noodles and add carrot, bean sprouts, cucumber, bell pepper and tofu,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
This is for the fish sauce mixture only. I thought it was pretty good but also think it's missing something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 61-70 (of 371) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Vietnamese Fresh Spring Rolls

See how to make healthy spring rolls with shrimp.

Vietnamese Spring Rolls with Dipping Sauce

See how to make beautiful Vietnamese spring rolls.

Fresh Vietnamese Vermicelli Bowl

See how to make a super-fresh Vietnamese noodle bowl.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States