Vietnamese Fresh Spring Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by SunnyDaysNora
Reviewed: May 2, 2012
My husband and I really enjoyed this. I used cellophane (mung bean) noodles rather than rice noodles. Substituted julienned sticks of imitation crab for shrimp. Next time I would probably either cut back on the mint or substitute another herb. Added julienned carrot and cucumber. Served with a spicy peanut sauce for dipping. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyDaysNora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
Excellent recipe. I like to add a little more mint and cilantro, love this fresh taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy L Roussell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
Love theses and love the versitility of what you can put in them...when I want something really tasteful but without a ton of meat, I eat these veggie style. They are still wonderful - esp. with the fish sauce for dipping. You cannot beat mint, basil, and cilantro. I also usually squeeze a lemon wedge onto the filling before closing it - so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
I have made this several times, didn't change a thing & they are fantastic! I grew up in the city where all types of food were plentiful, I now live in a rural area & had to figure out how to make a lot of things for myself! These are definitely winners!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Sepeda
Living In: Millbrook, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Frickin' AMAZING!! And so much fun for the family to make the way each person wanted! We often order these from our local Vietnamese restaurants, and they have always looked rather complicated. Even after reading this recipe, I was skeptical about my ability to make them, but they turned out great! Water for rice paper didn't even need to be warm, but as others cautioned...they just need a dip, not a long soak. We made them with the basic items from the recipe (except the basil because we didn't have it and the lettuce because we had enough other ingredients), but we also mixed and matched some additional ingredients for fun/variety. We used leftover ground turkey (from the Asian Lettuce Wraps recipe on this site), jalepenos, bean sprouts, julienned carrots and cucumber slices. For the dip, we only used a hoisin/peanut butter/chopped cashew mix. Can't wait to make them for my next party!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BCJANGULO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
These were great! We used to go to a little Vietnamese place and always ordered these. When we moved I was convinced I had to try to make these at home. I could not find Thai basil so I had to leave that out. These were still really good, so if you can't find Thai basil, don't worry! The sauces were spot on! My husband loves the fish sauce and I love the peanut sauce, so this was perfect. Thank you so much for a fantastic recipe, I will be making these again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moore, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Globe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
Fabulous! I hosted a dinner party where we assembled these together as an ice breaker activity. I prepped all the vegetables (including shredded carrots and julienned cucumber) and fillings ahead of time, and everyone rolled their own rolls, choosing whatever they wanted. I made the sauce from the recipe (yum!), as well as the 2 parts hoisin, 1 part peanut butter sauce recommended by another reviewer. It was a hit! Everyone was very enthusiastic. I will definitely do them as a party activity again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Farmington, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
This was a hit and I've made it twice. Takes a while to assemble, a little labor intensive. I used the 2 parts hoisin sauce, 1 part peanut butter sauce as one reviewer suggested and it was delicious-I wasn't about to spend the time it takes making the sauce from the recipe but I'm sure they were good as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shanaT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Very good and fresh tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
These are AWESOME
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mkaty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Erie, Colorado, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 373) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vietnamese Fresh Spring Rolls

See how to make healthy spring rolls with shrimp.

Vietnamese Spring Rolls with Dipping Sauce

See how to make beautiful Vietnamese spring rolls.

Fresh Vietnamese Vermicelli Bowl

See how to make a super-fresh Vietnamese noodle bowl.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States