Vietnamese Chicken Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
Really good! Used less fish sauce as per other reviews and was out of peanuts,so I used pistachios. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
this was very good! i was worried about the fish sauce being too pungent so i cut it down by a third.. i was using up what i had in the fridge so i had to omit chile peppers and cilantro.. i used bottled lemon juice for the lime and doubled it.. halved the sugar bc i don't like sweet.. but added everything else.. this was a very delicious lunch.. ty for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
While we didn't overly care for this as a chicken/cabbage salad, but we did love the dressing. The only change I made was to sub lite mayo for the vegetable oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
Delicious! Added quite a bit of fresh mint (chopped)and added some Sriracha to kick up the spiciness a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
I loved this recipe! The dressing is delicious - I did reduce the amount of fish sauce & increase the sesame oil however, as a matter of personal taste. That was the only change & I guess some would prefer it with a stronger, salty fish sauce flavour. Better to just play around with it, & taste it before you mix it all in! Lovely recipe, will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blfm94

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
My Vietnamese mother inlaw makes it just like this and it's delicious. She always adds mint, and I would definatly not go without it. I dont love cilantro so I lessen this amount. The cabbage does soften after it's mixed, not as much as salad lettuce, but same idea. I like it a little bit softer. Dont be afraid of the fish sauce. If you're concerned about it, add extra lime and extra sugar. I often serve it as a party appetizer scooped on top of tortilla chips. Everyone loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rumtum05

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
We LOVE this salad. I found a ready-made dipping sauce with fish sauce in it at the Asian market that saved some steps, and it is delicious. Thanks Jia T.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne Murphy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
A couple of things on the fish sauce that my mom taught me as I grew up in the US: 1) the brand of the fish sauce makes a difference, good ones are milder in the "fish" flavor and not as quite as salty; 2) while they last a while, if kept too long, it gets a very strong flavor. Much better when fresh. Unfortunately as a little goes a long way, it usually takes me months to go through half a bottle but mom is right so I usually buy the smallest bottle I can find and keep them for only a month or two. I also cut down on the amount in this recipe to 2 tbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
This was delicious, although I made a few changes to make it healthier. I used only half the peanuts and left out the vegetable oil (replacing it with water). I also used oyster sauce because I couldn't find fish sauce in the grocery store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
This was a hit with husband AND kids! We loved it! The taste was balanced and a little "zippy" but not too much. Just a pleasant meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fruity Curry Chicken Salad

See how to make a tasty curry chicken salad with lots of healthy fruit.

Becky’s Chicken Salad

Discover the secret ingredient that gives this chicken salad a sweet lift.

Grilled Chicken Salad with Seasonal Fruit

An amazing main dish salad that stars grilled chicken and fresh seasonal fruit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States