Vietnamese Beef Pho Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
If you haven't made this recipe, why are some of you even reviewing it? That is not right. I thought is was okay, not the best I have had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
A good pho proxy for when you don't have time to make the real stuff. Broth tastes like pho until you have it with the herbs--then it becomes clear that the broth is thin tasting because it loses out to the taste of the basil and cilantro. Still the real stuff takes hours and hours to make, so this is good if you want a quick dinner after work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
I agree with the criticisms about the missing Star anise; if you want an exotic flavor try a few Kafir lime leaves rather than lemon grass. Also the noodles after soaking need to be placed in boiling salted water for about 30 seconds rather than go directly from soaking to the bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
The better broth you make the better the soup will be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GCROUTHAMEL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
Tasted just like the beef pho from Pho Hana in California. My husband and just loved it. Yes it may not taste like the original Pho but it's a great alternative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
I was extremely happy with this recipe. I tried a variation, using chicken broth and cooking thinly sliced chicken during the last 10 minutes before serving. Everybody loved the meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eureka, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
This is Not Pho
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KingSparta

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marmora, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
When I make Vietnamese soup, I only put in this: Chinese Special Spice (in a clear bag with a steaming bowl and chopsticks rendered). Called: ~ Gia Vi Nau Plu~ The ingredient list of spices on the bag are: Star Anise, Fennel, Corriander, Cinnamon, Sugar Cloves. Made by: Thanh Lqi Corp. Santa Ana, California. Made in USA. If I'm using a package or container of purchased soup I don't add salt. If homemade, I do add Sea Salt. I only use Rice Noodles with this. I purchase this bag of spice at the local Asian Market. How I got the information of this spice was a friend and I had basically spent all our outings starting with Vietnamese soup and Vietnamese Coffee. Without my knowledge, starting with the first time we went, my friend slowly starting questioning the making of the soup, giving it high praise, and 'notice how often we're here". About 6 months went by, and the owner gave in and told my friend of the spice. We thanked him profusely, bought it, and it was perfect. The exact same aroma and taste. Note: We did not abandon our favorite Vietnamese Resturant and the kind, kind owner. We just have it always.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2011
I thought this was the perfect way to make Pho at home without making stock from scratch. I did add star anise becuse I love that flavor in Pho. Easy too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kari

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orem, Utah, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2011
Other comments are right that this recipe is missing a whole lot of authentic ingredients. It tastes okay as is (I made a small batch just to test), but it's not the same. Here's a few tweaks to make it more authentic: 1. Use beef STOCK instead of BROTH, if you can. Broth is beef stock with added vegetable stock and herbs. Pho is made from straight stock. 2. Add the following spices along with the peppercorns and cinnamon: 5 Star Anise (regular anise works as well. Both contain anethole, which is what gives it its flavor) and 5 whole cloves. 3. Other recommended spices you might add are: 1 cardamom pod, 1 tsp coriander or cilantro, dash of nutmeg, 1 tsp fennel seeds, 1 bay leaf. 4. Put your spices in a mesh bag or one of those reusable mesh balls used for loose tea, to make it easier to remove. 5. Many recipes recommend using shallots, a small, mild sort of onion with a somewhat garlicky flavor. Char them in the broiler first (about 10-15 mins, turning once), or on a grill, and then boil them along with the spice mesh. 6. Garnish with chopped scallions if you have some available. One last note: Lemon grass is very hard to find if you don't have an Asian grocer nearby. I checked 3 grocery stores and none of them carried it. I substituted with a few dashes of dried lemon peel I found in the spice section. Seemed to work okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Greenbelt, Maryland, USA
Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Beef Pho

See how to make authentic South Vietnamese-style Pho noodle soup.

How to Make Pho

See how to make authentic Vietnamese pho.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States