Vietnamese Beef Pho Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2003
Basically, I have a recommendation for authentic vietnamese pho. Go to your local oriental/world food mart and buy the actual pho broth cubes. Just ask the cashier. They come in small packages of 6. This makes the pho taste authentic, rather than making your own broth or buying american beef broth. Happy eating!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
239 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ink

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
This is missing the many spices (Star Anise, Cloves, etc.) that makes Pho...Pho. The Lemongrass also throws it off. I've never seen lemongrass introduced in Vietnamese Pho. It might be in some other types of Asian noodle type soup but never in Vietnamese Pho.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
146 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
This is not pho. Don't be fooled into thinking this is pho. Pho is made from hours of cooking beef bones to soften the meat and draw out the bone marrow. What we have here is spiced swanson beef broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
144 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike Nguyen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2006
Missing important star anise. Soup can't exist without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Oliva Cox

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ho Chi Minh City, Dong Nam Bo, Viet Nam
Living In: Easton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2002
In response to the one person who classified the traditional ingredients for making this recipe, the anise seeds etc and traditionally used by the Vietnamese. Lemongrass is traditionally used by those of Cambodian and Thai origin which makes just as great a broth. Aside from the lemongrass, you can also add a dried pickled radish found in many Asian specialty stores. These taste really great tender. For added flavor, my family fries a little minced garlic ahead of time until they are golden (takes only a few seconds!) and garnish the pho with them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zulema011

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2002
Voon-da-bar. Darn good Pho. For those of you with difficulty slicing beef thin, try this: Pop your cut of beef into the freezer (suggest you plastic wrap it first)... 10-30 minutes and you'll be dancing - chilly beef makes for easy slicing (be sure to use a sharp knife as well). Bring to room temperature before finishing off in bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2005
This is an excellent recipe. As another user recommended, I found 'pho cubes' at an asian market and use them to make the broth. This makes a huge difference. I also use dried vermicelli noodles instead of rice noodles. I'm not a fan of fish sauce so I omit that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Valdez, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2006
This is a tasty base recipe. Ingredients are easy to find, preparation is minimal and spices can be adjusted to suit each person's taste. I decreased the broth to 3 Qt, added garlic, a couple anise stars, increased the cinnamon stick (2) and used colored peppercorns. Along with the fresh herbs/vegs's we just seasoned with chili sauce. This soup will be a staple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
So so so so good. As other reviewers have mentioned....definitely freeze the beef before slicing (the thinner, the better) & add some star anise and cloves. Quick and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2005
This is a great pho recipe. The only variations I made were leaving out the basil and hoisin because I didn't have any in the fridge. I would definitely recommend putting the beef in the freezer for about 30-40 mins to make it easy to cut really thin slices. This will now become a regular on our dinner table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Pho

See how to make authentic South Vietnamese-style Pho noodle soup.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

How to Make Pho

See how to make authentic Vietnamese pho.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States