Vietnamese Beef Pho Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
An excellent recipe! I added some of the spices other reviewers mentioned (star anise, cloves, nutmeg) and it smelled just like restaurant pho while it was cooking. I wasn't able to cut my meat as thin as I wanted, and the broth didn't stay boiling long enough to fully cook the meat, but a minute in the microwave got the soup hot again and cooked the beef fully. I'll be glad when I can make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matthew Perrett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pacifica, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
This is very good. I made a few changes (such as adding anise seed and only used half the amount of noodles). Definitely agree that the slicing is made much easier by freezing the meat for 10 min first. Also, this time I used canned broth, next time I will make my own because I think the soup will - obviously - be greatly improved if using homemade broth over canned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Storm23

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
This is not the traditional Pho that my family makes (we are Vietnamese)! We definitely DO NOT use lemongrass or garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
It wasn't like authentic pho, but it was really good considering we made this at home. Very easy to make. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kyoooootie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Lee, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hamden, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
The best Vietnamese Pho recipe I have ever tryed. All my friends and relatives loved it and had to have the recipe the very first time I ever made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
Star Anise, fried chopped garlic is an absolute necessity in this recipe. And I totally agree to delete hoisin sauce, lemon grass and basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
I love this Pho!! I couldn't find Anise like others suggested and it was still great. I did add garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
So so so so good. As other reviewers have mentioned....definitely freeze the beef before slicing (the thinner, the better) & add some star anise and cloves. Quick and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2006
This was my first time making Pho. It was suprisingly easy and turned out great. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2006
Missing important star anise. Soup can't exist without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Oliva Cox

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ho Chi Minh City, Dong Nam Bo, Viet Nam
Living In: Easton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Beef Pho

See how to make authentic South Vietnamese-style Pho noodle soup.

How to Make Pho

See how to make authentic Vietnamese pho.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States