Vietnamese Beef Pho Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
I have tried this a few times and find that the canned beef broth works the best. Homemade or the cubes just don't cut it. I usually serve with fresh spring rolls so half a serving is enough
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ajax, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
I made this version of Pho for my husband because I did not have the ingredients for a more traditional version. I put out a platter with Cilantro, green onions, Limes, bean sprouts, mushrooms, jalepinos and onions then set the table with Sriancha, fish sauce, and soy sauce. He loved this and wants it again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriaSe49896

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by WeekendWarrior
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
Great recipe! I took a 10 & 12 year old with me to a Vietnamese grocery store and was able to get everything I needed. The trip there was an enjoyable adventure in itself. I would recommend that vs trying to find it all in a large commercial grocery store. Everything was easy to prepare...in fact the 10 year did most of the work. I grabbed a spice bag for pho and added it along with the beef 30 minutes before removing it from the simmer mode and added brown mushrooms. Adding sriacha, hoisan, & soy will give the dish a whole new flavor, but I wouldn't recommend dumping all three in there. I also added fresh thyme for one of my garnishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WeekendWarrior

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
I have been so excited about making pho for months now, the fresh ingredients are so amazing. I've looked at tons of recipes and just when I thought I had all of the ingrediants, I always ended up needing more! I used this recipe, I added cloves (2) and anise seeds to the recipe. I also cooked the large onion in the broth for its hour of cooking and then pulled it out. This dish was wonderful! Beef broth was just fine, if not great! Thank you so much! One cin. stick was just fine for us, two overpowered just a bit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
This recipe is awesome! My husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
tasted great with my own alterations (used pho broth cubes, used slow cooker for first few ingredients and meat for 6-8 hours and then transferred to large pot and added rest of ingredients) Ate with fresh herbs and rice noodles. Go to an asian grocery store---it will help alot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
This soup tastes exactly like what we get when we go out for pho. I am so happy to finally be able to make the soup we love at home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
I disagree with the other comments. I did add the anise and left out the lemongrass. Simmered for much longer than called for. My husband says it's the best pho he's ever had. He's still talking about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erinl827

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
This is not pho. Don't be fooled into thinking this is pho. Pho is made from hours of cooking beef bones to soften the meat and draw out the bone marrow. What we have here is spiced swanson beef broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
156 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike Nguyen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
Very good. My first venture into Vietnamese cooking. It was great. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPEARFISHER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Demopolis, Alabama, USA
Living In: Gulf Shores, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Beef Pho

See how to make authentic South Vietnamese-style Pho noodle soup.

How to Make Pho

See how to make authentic Vietnamese pho.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States