Vietnamese Beef And Lettuce Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
We were very pleased with this dish. I substituted curry for the cumin, used Rotel tomatoes and, after tasting, I added about a tbl more sugar. My family loved it and asked me to make it again soon. I served it with rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2005
It was a spicy sweet dish that proved worthy of my dinner table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
This was great! I used my favorite curry blend, 1/2 the tomatoes, and a little extra lettuce. Oh, and no chile sauce, since I didn't have any. The garlic gave it a slight bite. My husband and kids, who like slightly ethnic foods, loved this over jasmine rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
A great, easy meal that was not the same old thing. I feel like I'm always trying to find new ways to stuff ground beef into my family without it being boring. I did substitute with cube steak (I was out of ground beef), and I replaced the lettuce with chopped spinach to pack a little more nutrition. Awesome dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mercyp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Choccolocco, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
The fish sauce is key. Try to get the least salty variety you can. Instead of ground beef, I use a roast which is sliced into thin pieces and strips. Use sesame oil instead of vegetable. I serve it on a sheet of roasted nori (seaweed), with egg noodles instead of rice. Garnish with sesame seeds and sriratcha sauce and BOOM! Best dinner (and leftovers) ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
Here are the changes I made: 5 cloves garlic divided 1 tsp. Sugar 1 Tbsp. Maple Syrup not quite 1/4 c. fish sauce 1 tsp. Samal Oelec ground fresh chili paste watered down slightly 1/4 c. lime juice olive oil 1 lb. ground beef 2 tsp. curry powder 2 tsp. cumin (yes, that's what I said. Oh, and add the spices until you can smell them. That may be more than 2 tsp each) I put about 2 1/2 c. canned diced tomatoes at least 2 cups torn lettuce (I used a left over salad, tomatoes, shredded carrots and peppers too) 1 tsp. ginger, grated 1 tbsp cilantro (adds color and a flavor punch) 1/2 tsp. dried pepper flakes 1 tsp. cornstarch disolved in 1/4 cup water Cook as stated above. Serve over plenty of white rice. Happy family!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Holly Berry
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
I used chow mein noodles instead of rice, ¼ cup canned diced tomato/chile and a mixture inspired by these 3 recipes: Basic Curry Sauce, Chinese Style Sesame Sauce & Teriyaki Sauce and Marinade. I used peanut oil, ginger, garlic, turmeric, curry powder, chile sauce, cilantro, white sugar, cornstarch, rice vinegar, soy sauce, peanut sauce, lemon juice and water. Just keep tasting and adding stuff until you like it. Lots of cornstarch added a bit at a time helps thicken the sauce without affecting taste. While I had the sauce going, I cooked the ground beef in a separate pan then drained it and added to the sauce and continued simmering. Ground beef grease is nasty so I wasn't about to cook the raw beef in the sauce. I let the food cool for a minute to thicken, added romaine lettuce and sprinkled on sesame seeds for texture. Overall, this recipe was good. The cooking times are correct to get good results. I used chow mein noodles because I’m tired of rice and they take literally 1 minute to cook. I tried this recipe because I needed to use up my ground beef, but something like this should be made with thinly sliced steak or pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Berry

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2005
This was really good! It was a little salty for our taste, so next time I will use half the fish sauce and a tad less chili sauce. BTW- I used curry power, I'm assuming Cumin is a type-O?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
I don't know how Vietnamese this really is, but it was tasty nonetheless. Would add some vegetables next time around. But with the fish sauce, a Thai sweet chili sauce, and some Sriracha (for punch), this was quite good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
This was good, but best of all, really easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blancdeblanc
Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States