Vietnamese Beef And Lettuce Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
This was great! I used my favorite curry blend, 1/2 the tomatoes, and a little extra lettuce. Oh, and no chile sauce, since I didn't have any. The garlic gave it a slight bite. My husband and kids, who like slightly ethnic foods, loved this over jasmine rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Holly Berry
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
I used chow mein noodles instead of rice, ¼ cup canned diced tomato/chile and a mixture inspired by these 3 recipes: Basic Curry Sauce, Chinese Style Sesame Sauce & Teriyaki Sauce and Marinade. I used peanut oil, ginger, garlic, turmeric, curry powder, chile sauce, cilantro, white sugar, cornstarch, rice vinegar, soy sauce, peanut sauce, lemon juice and water. Just keep tasting and adding stuff until you like it. Lots of cornstarch added a bit at a time helps thicken the sauce without affecting taste. While I had the sauce going, I cooked the ground beef in a separate pan then drained it and added to the sauce and continued simmering. Ground beef grease is nasty so I wasn't about to cook the raw beef in the sauce. I let the food cool for a minute to thicken, added romaine lettuce and sprinkled on sesame seeds for texture. Overall, this recipe was good. The cooking times are correct to get good results. I used chow mein noodles because I’m tired of rice and they take literally 1 minute to cook. I tried this recipe because I needed to use up my ground beef, but something like this should be made with thinly sliced steak or pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Berry

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2005
It was a spicy sweet dish that proved worthy of my dinner table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2005
The cumin must be a type-o as previously mentioned. I used cumin and it tastes more like taco salad. Might try it with curry powder next time. The kids still liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKING66

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
I don't know how Vietnamese this really is, but it was tasty nonetheless. Would add some vegetables next time around. But with the fish sauce, a Thai sweet chili sauce, and some Sriracha (for punch), this was quite good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2006
With so many great curry recipes out there, this was just average.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
Definitely not Vietamese, but pretty good anways, and a good use of a pound of meat and a head of lettuce. I used curry powder instead of cumin, as suggested by other reviewers. I almost omitted the lemon, and I'm glad I didn't. Fish sauce's flavor needs to be covered up by any combination of foods available in my opinion, and the fish sauce mixture turned out to be surprisingly tangy, sweet, and complex.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2005
This was really good! It was a little salty for our taste, so next time I will use half the fish sauce and a tad less chili sauce. BTW- I used curry power, I'm assuming Cumin is a type-O?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
This was good, but best of all, really easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blancdeblanc
Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
Wouldn't consider this "Curry" by any means...more like a taco salad as some reviews have quoted, but boy does it taste much better than regular taco seasoning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States