Vietnamese Aromatic Lamb Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 28, 2009
This was an excellent recipe! I love lamb and this was a really great new way to prepare it. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by petey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tehachapi, California, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
I used this with pork loin chops and LOVED it. I recommend The Q's suggestion with regard to simmering down some chicken broth with the drippings (I didn't bother with the balsamic and cornstarch). Marinated it over night, roasted, then thinly sliced the pork and simmered in the sauce. I served it over rice noodles, Vietnamese cucumbers, carrots, and a thin bed of lettuce. Very similar to traditional "Bun" or noodle bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
I was leery of using loin chops because I’ve had iffy results with this meat cut, but the lamb turned out very tender and flavorful. Marinating overnight is best, but I’ve also had good results with five hours. We serve it with a robust salad, but if you’re really hungry you’ll want another side. It’s also a great dish for company. I would just note, however, that the cilantro and lime are what really make this recipe Vietnamese. Leaving off those items gives you a great piece of lamb; changing the toppings could easily adapt the dish to another cuisine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DAIBREAK
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
This recipe is outstanding! I wanted something different for lamb and this was it. Very flavorful and very good. I only wish that I had remembered to take a picture of it. Also, when I set these to marinade I didn't get a chance to cook it the next day so they marinated for 2 days and were so flavorful but the flavor still didn't overpower the lamb. It complimented it very well. Also, if you're cooking the 15 as the recipe calls for, I would increase the amount of marinade so that there is plenty to go over all of it. I used the recipe as stated for 4 chops and there wasn't much left over. Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAIBREAK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
OMG Don't let the name fool you, these are really good. I followed step 1 and 2 then after taking the meat out of the oven I set the meat aside and took all the left over drippings in a saucepan added 2 cloves of garlic let it cook for about minute added 1/4 cup of balsamic then 3/4 cup of chicken broth let that simmer for about 2 minutes stirred in about 2 tablespoons of cornstarch to thicken the sauce then added the meat to the gravy simmering and turning meat over once. My side dish was garlic mashed potatoes and stemmed veggies.....I have to cook more next time these were gone so fast....Thanks for this receipe Nelson...wow what a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lakewood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
Thank you for sharing this recipe. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PIPERCAT99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
How Lamb Should Be Done! This was outstanding
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
This is an amazing recipe. We used pork chops instead of lamb and it turned out really good. We were out of garlic powder and we just used extra cloves of garlic. We cooked it on the stop top instead of grilling it, but used very little oil. We thickened the left over juices and it made a very tasty sauce. We served it with white rice on the side and it was a very good meal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHANDYCOOKS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kottayam, Kerala, India
Living In: Bangalore, Karnataka, India

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
Great recipe! It's simple to prepare and the flavor is outstanding! I didn't have fresh cilantro around so I just sprinkled about 1/4 teaspoon of dried cilantro over the meat before serving and it was delicious. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
This recipe is awesome. I am forever looking for new ways of preparing lamb dishes and this was a hit, served with chip, veggies or oven roasted potatoes its a sure-fire way of creating a divine meal with lamb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pietermaritzburg, Kwazulu-Natal, South Africa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Lamb Chops with Balsamic Reduction

Tasty lamb chops are cooked on the stovetop with a tasty balsamic sauce.

Lamb Chops Braised in Pomegranate Juice

See how to make lamb chops braised in pomegranate juice.

Grilled Lemon & Rosemary Lamb Chops

This yummy lamb chop marinade pairs Italian and Indian flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States