Vietnamese Aromatic Lamb Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
OMG Don't let the name fool you, these are really good. I followed step 1 and 2 then after taking the meat out of the oven I set the meat aside and took all the left over drippings in a saucepan added 2 cloves of garlic let it cook for about minute added 1/4 cup of balsamic then 3/4 cup of chicken broth let that simmer for about 2 minutes stirred in about 2 tablespoons of cornstarch to thicken the sauce then added the meat to the gravy simmering and turning meat over once. My side dish was garlic mashed potatoes and stemmed veggies.....I have to cook more next time these were gone so fast....Thanks for this receipe Nelson...wow what a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lakewood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DAIBREAK
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
This recipe is outstanding! I wanted something different for lamb and this was it. Very flavorful and very good. I only wish that I had remembered to take a picture of it. Also, when I set these to marinade I didn't get a chance to cook it the next day so they marinated for 2 days and were so flavorful but the flavor still didn't overpower the lamb. It complimented it very well. Also, if you're cooking the 15 as the recipe calls for, I would increase the amount of marinade so that there is plenty to go over all of it. I used the recipe as stated for 4 chops and there wasn't much left over. Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAIBREAK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
I was leery of using loin chops because I’ve had iffy results with this meat cut, but the lamb turned out very tender and flavorful. Marinating overnight is best, but I’ve also had good results with five hours. We serve it with a robust salad, but if you’re really hungry you’ll want another side. It’s also a great dish for company. I would just note, however, that the cilantro and lime are what really make this recipe Vietnamese. Leaving off those items gives you a great piece of lamb; changing the toppings could easily adapt the dish to another cuisine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
This is one of the best recipes I've ever used for lamb. I think next time I'll leave off the sugar, however. As-is, though, it's still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashland, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Union, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
I made these chops and oh my word, divine is not the word to be used for this dish. The meat was soooo tender and juicy. Theres no doubt this is one for the recipe book, a must have and must make. LOVE IT!!!!! added comment - 15/05/2012 - ive said it before in 2010 im saying it again, this is an awesome recipe made it again on sunday for Mothers day and it was a hit. There wasnt anything left. Now to try it with pork loin chops to see how it comes out. YUMNESS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nastrauvia

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
Oh. My. Goodness. This was out of this world, and I would agree the best lamb I've ever had. I didn't have lamb chops--only lamb stew meat--so I was worried that it wouldn't work as well. The marinade tenderized it perfectly, and then carmelized it in a beautiful manner. Absolutely delicious! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Javagoddess

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Westminster, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
This is an amazing recipe. We used pork chops instead of lamb and it turned out really good. We were out of garlic powder and we just used extra cloves of garlic. We cooked it on the stop top instead of grilling it, but used very little oil. We thickened the left over juices and it made a very tasty sauce. We served it with white rice on the side and it was a very good meal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHANDYCOOKS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kottayam, Kerala, India
Living In: Bangalore, Karnataka, India

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
I used this with pork loin chops and LOVED it. I recommend The Q's suggestion with regard to simmering down some chicken broth with the drippings (I didn't bother with the balsamic and cornstarch). Marinated it over night, roasted, then thinly sliced the pork and simmered in the sauce. I served it over rice noodles, Vietnamese cucumbers, carrots, and a thin bed of lettuce. Very similar to traditional "Bun" or noodle bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2009
This was an excellent recipe! I love lamb and this was a really great new way to prepare it. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by petey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tehachapi, California, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
How Lamb Should Be Done! This was outstanding
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lamb Chops with Balsamic Reduction

Tasty lamb chops are cooked on the stovetop with a tasty balsamic sauce.

Lamb Chops Braised in Pomegranate Juice

See how to make lamb chops braised in pomegranate juice.

Grilled Lemon & Rosemary Lamb Chops

This yummy lamb chop marinade pairs Italian and Indian flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States