Viennese Crescent Holiday Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
I have made these as Christmas gifts every year and everyone waits for them! My recipe is a bit different--I use almonds (very finely chopped), and 1/4 c regular sugar for the mix. (My recipe doesn't call for vanilla bean). I bake at a low temp (300) for about 30 minutes. The cookies should be rolled in powdered sugar twice--the first roll does absorb, but the second stays white and fluffy. I use a plastic bag in a bowl filled with the powdered sugar for easier rolling. My brother used to call these "fuzzy cookies". A great cookie no matter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
210 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
Amazing! For those who want to add the chocolate coating, I used the "chocolate covered strawberries" recipe. (Basically melt 8 oz of chocolate chips with 1 tablespoon of shortening. Dip cooled cookies into chocolate.) I really enjoyed these cookies plain & with chocolate! Hooray!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
161 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
I made these with almonds as suggested by the submitter and they are quite good. I found one minute wasn't long enough for the cookies to cool before coating with sugar as the sugar just dissolved into the cookies. I waited until they were cool and rolled them in sugar again. These seem to freeze well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
This is the recipe I've used for years, minus the vanilla bean in the sugar, and using ground pecans inplace of the hazelnuts. My children love these cookies so much that one year when I didn't bake them due to illness, we ended up throwing a batch together on Christmas Eve just so it would "really" be Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SDK999

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Midland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
I don't use the vanilla bean - too much work. Just use a good quality pure vanilla extract when you make the dough, I prefer Mexican vanilla. Also, if you use an electric mixer to mix the dough until light, you have cookies that literally melt in your mouth. Amazing. Plus, for a different taste, use toasted pecans or almonds, chopped very fine. For the chocolate, use Belgian Chocolate instead of chocolate chips, a world of difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jean Sokolinski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morris, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sequim, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2004
Just like my Oma, I used walnuts instead of the hazelnuts. Always a wonderful Christmas tradition and incredibly delicious. Thanks Deb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
I make this recipe without the nuts and love it. I keep the dough in the fridge and make a few at a time to have with coffee. I love how it melts in your mouth and it tastes great with the coffee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
My mom always made those with almonds for xmas and tea parties and it was my fav cookie. she dipped the ends in choc and so do I.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Watson Lake, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2000
Delicious and easy recipe!!! * * * * *
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
Easy and tasty! My husband's grandmother claimed the whole batch for herself. This will be one of my holiday favorites to make each Christmas with my little girl. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Viennese Crescent Holiday Cookies

Serve a taste of tradition with these light, buttery cookies.

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States