Viennese Crescent Holiday Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
My mom always made those with almonds for xmas and tea parties and it was my fav cookie. she dipped the ends in choc and so do I.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Watson Lake, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
I don't use the vanilla bean - too much work. Just use a good quality pure vanilla extract when you make the dough, I prefer Mexican vanilla. Also, if you use an electric mixer to mix the dough until light, you have cookies that literally melt in your mouth. Amazing. Plus, for a different taste, use toasted pecans or almonds, chopped very fine. For the chocolate, use Belgian Chocolate instead of chocolate chips, a world of difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jean Sokolinski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morris, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sequim, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
Brings back memories! Best cookies my Mom maid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by viennakarin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Malden, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
to me, once the cookies cooled, they tasted greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mora, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
These were great! In Austria they call them Vanille Kipferl, and make them every Christmas. I made some with my bf's mom, but i don't like using a scale or anything, so i was so glad to find this recipe in the good old American system! I made a ton to send to my family, and my mom begged for the recipe! Not quite as good as my bf's mom's, but still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
I made these for the first time this year for part of my Christmas Cookie giveaway. They are delicious and so easy to make. Love the flavor. I used almonds and after baking and dusting with confectioner's sugar I dipped one end of the crescent in melted dark chocolate and put them on wax paper in the frig until the chocolate set. I'm going to make another batch this evening for our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yonkers, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
really great cookie...nice and airy! I drizzled some chocolate over them and sprinkled crushed hazlenuts over the chocolate. Really tasty cookie. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amanda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palmerton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Jim Thorpe, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
they melted in the oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
my mom made this recipe for over 20 years, we made it with walnuts instead and it always turns out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yara

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
I'm only giving these 2 in case it was operator error! These cookies were dry and had NO flavor! The dough was very hard to work with also, too crumbly to really shape nicely in my opinion. I did not try chocolate dipping them, but had so much powdered sugar it was like icing so I would think they should have been fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NDG42200

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Viennese Crescent Holiday Cookies

Serve a taste of tradition with these light, buttery cookies.

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Cookies Across America

See how you and your friends can decorate cookies for a good cause.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States