Viennese Crescent Holiday Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
Tasty but the crescent shape made it difficult to get powdered sugar on all sides. There was also way too much powdered sugar for the dusting... ended up with a cup leftover. I'm not sure how everyone got the chocolate dip on so nicely... my chocolate just stuck to the powdered sugar and not the cookie. Still delicious, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashleyrose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Renton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
I guess I just expected something a bit more from a recipe with this good a rating. I honestly thought they were good, but essentially just wedding cookies with hazelnuts, and a little bit boring for what I was expecting. I followed the recipe exactly, no substitutions. Make sure you don't make them too large.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Addictive! Works very well for dipping in chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
Excellent! I used pecans, because that's all I had on hand. I also used half vanilla and half almond extract, but otherwise followed the recipe and they were sooo yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
I FOUND THE MIXTURE TO CRUMBLY, SO I ADDED AN EGG. THEY CAME OUT NICE AND WERE VERY TASTY. I AM GOING TO MAKE A SECOND BATCH, AND JUST FLATTEN THEM INTO ROUNDS....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
I made this recipe with almonds, and I skip the sugar to sprinkle, I just put the chocolat to save some calories, I add some sugar because my butter was salty, I do advice to let the cookies cool down for more than a minute, 5 0r 10 minutes it's better, because they breake easily, you must be really careful while you handle the cookies. Everyone loved the cookies! They go perfect with tea
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rome, Lazio, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
My mom always made those with almonds for xmas and tea parties and it was my fav cookie. she dipped the ends in choc and so do I.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Watson Lake, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
I don't use the vanilla bean - too much work. Just use a good quality pure vanilla extract when you make the dough, I prefer Mexican vanilla. Also, if you use an electric mixer to mix the dough until light, you have cookies that literally melt in your mouth. Amazing. Plus, for a different taste, use toasted pecans or almonds, chopped very fine. For the chocolate, use Belgian Chocolate instead of chocolate chips, a world of difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morris, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sequim, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
Brings back memories! Best cookies my Mom maid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by viennakarin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Malden, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
to me, once the cookies cooled, they tasted greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mora, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Viennese Crescent Holiday Cookies

Serve a taste of tradition with these light, buttery cookies.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Cookies Across America

See how you and your friends can decorate cookies for a good cause.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States