Viennese Crescent Holiday Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
Used almonds instead (already had them on hand), and rolled into balls since so many said they had a hard time with them breaking. VERY delicious. Big hit at cookie swap and Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SQUASHBLOSSOMGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
These cookies are great. They taste just like ones my Nonna used to make for Christmas. You do have to warm the dough in your hands as you shape them for them to stay together and it takes a while to make the cresent shapes, but well worth it. I now make these every Christmas and my family really enjoys them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
I tried this recipe today.It came out very good.Thanks for good recipe.In place of powdered sugar I used icing sugar as vanilla pods are available in my town.Hazel nuts gave it crunchy texture. Chhaya
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bangalore, Karnataka, India

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Unbelievably yummy! These have been on my list for a while so I chose this recipe cause it has the lowest fat to flour ratio (out of guilt and saving money). I used ground almonds instead of hazelnuts as they're cheaper, they were good but probably not as much flavour as hazelnuts. I also didn't put vanilla bean in the sugar. Overall a great cookie recipe even for non cookie eaters!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pooch656

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Porirua, Wellington, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
I made this on Christmas Eve for my family. Everything was great! My sister and mother have eccentric tastes and their eyes rolled back into their heads with this cookie!!! It was real tasty. The taste of the hazelnuts where perfect and the almond flavor was a nice addition. Except that it was a little much, maybe a little overwhelming. The original extract measurements where doable but for my tastes, I'd cut back a bit. Other than that I'd definitely make them again and probably for my church family :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by debskitchen452

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Very good. I also dipped them in the chocolate sauce w/ 2 T shortening that's also on this site. Very elegant cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Grove, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
very good. I didnot dip in chocolate
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamden, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Just plain GOOD!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheeks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
very good, just put powdered sugar in a bag to coat cookies much easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Best cookies I ever tasted, never mind ever baked! I used raw hazelnuts that I roasted the day before I did the recipe. The smell in the house was amazing when they baked! I would not dream of using any other nut, these are perfect with hazelnuts. Next batch, I will sprinkle the vanilla-flavoued icing sugar on an aliminum sheet and then sprinkle some over the hot cookies, to avoid handling them too much and so the coating is not too thick. The sugar melts and makes a nice tasty coating (the batter alone is not very sweet). Not sure I will coat with chocolate - they are great without it. Why mess with perfection?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Viennese Crescent Holiday Cookies

Serve a taste of tradition with these light, buttery cookies.

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States