Viennese Crescent Holiday Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
These taste the same as my regular nut butter balls but they were a little crumblier so I don't know if I'll use this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
I couldn't find hazelnuts so I used almonds instead and they were somewhat tasteless. If I do these again, I will add some almond extract. They might taste better with the hazelnuts, I don't know.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Diane
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
These are elegant cookies with a rich hazelnut flavor. They are delicious and not overly sweet. I gently toasted the hazelnuts and rubbed off most of the skins with a clean kitchen towel before grinding in the food processor. Didn't roll as well as I expected - dough was easier to shape when it was not so cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by jadedgurl
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
I loved these cookies. I swapped the vanilla for almond extract and used almonds instead. You do not need to measure out the powdered sugar for coating... Just coat to taste I just used a strainer and dusted the tops and probably only used 3 Tablespoons. 1 word of caution do not rush this cookie, the dough has to rest in the fridge for at least 45 minutes or it will not hold it's shape in the oven. Well worth the wait just like Grandma's ,they melt in your mouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jadedgurl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
My grandmother used to make these at Christmas time. They are delicious. But she used walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by William Greenawalt

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
followed directions to the t and turned out great - not too sweet and very very good. This was for a cookie exchange and my friends loved the cookies. I added chocolate to one end of each as shown in the picture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
I followed the directions and the cookies came out lovely, crisp, and tasty! I didn't have any trouble rolling them to 3" after squashing the dough a bit in my hands to soften. They were not exceptionally fragile--I had one break, but that was because I accidentally tapped it with the spatula. I did find that the amount of powdered sugar for rolling them in was about double what was actually needed--oh darn! I have to make some more! ;-) I did wind up with only 40 cookies, but I guess I overestimated how big an inch is. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Loved these!! I received so many compliments from these so much better than the plain crescent cookies, with that chocolate they were outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grant Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Beecher, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
I ran out of hazelnuts and substituted 1/2 the amount of pecans. I dipped half of the batch in dark chocolate. Great either way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clovis, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
nice holiday cookie. Light and flaky. I did not dip them in chocolate, but might try doing that next time. Definitely have to double the recipe for my family. My 4 year old grandson had fun shaping these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Viennese Crescent Holiday Cookies

Serve a taste of tradition with these light, buttery cookies.

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States