Viennese Crescent Holiday Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
Lovely delicate texture and flavour. I left them as balls rather than make them into crescents because my attempts at crescents looked goofy. Glad to add them to my annual baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KevinBerry7406
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
Fantastic cookies! I had never had these before making them and they were certainly worth it. The hazelnut flavor is amazing and they just melt in your mouth. The dough is very brittle and hard to work with and the cookies are very fragile, but they're delicious and totally worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KevinBerry7406

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
These are amazing!! I did them exactly as is, except I also added the chocolate coating. I dipped half of the cookie in a mix of 3/4 cup Belgian chocolate melted with 1 tbsp shortening. Make sure to dip the cookies when they are completely cooled. Incredible, we couldn't stop eating them. Will definitely make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tinag19

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
These taste the same as my regular nut butter balls but they were a little crumblier so I don't know if I'll use this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
I couldn't find hazelnuts so I used almonds instead and they were somewhat tasteless. If I do these again, I will add some almond extract. They might taste better with the hazelnuts, I don't know.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Diane
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
These are elegant cookies with a rich hazelnut flavor. They are delicious and not overly sweet. I gently toasted the hazelnuts and rubbed off most of the skins with a clean kitchen towel before grinding in the food processor. Didn't roll as well as I expected - dough was easier to shape when it was not so cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by jadedgurl
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
I loved these cookies. I swapped the vanilla for almond extract and used almonds instead. You do not need to measure out the powdered sugar for coating... Just coat to taste I just used a strainer and dusted the tops and probably only used 3 Tablespoons. 1 word of caution do not rush this cookie, the dough has to rest in the fridge for at least 45 minutes or it will not hold it's shape in the oven. Well worth the wait just like Grandma's ,they melt in your mouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jadedgurl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
My grandmother used to make these at Christmas time. They are delicious. But she used walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BillyG2

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
followed directions to the t and turned out great - not too sweet and very very good. This was for a cookie exchange and my friends loved the cookies. I added chocolate to one end of each as shown in the picture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
I followed the directions and the cookies came out lovely, crisp, and tasty! I didn't have any trouble rolling them to 3" after squashing the dough a bit in my hands to soften. They were not exceptionally fragile--I had one break, but that was because I accidentally tapped it with the spatula. I did find that the amount of powdered sugar for rolling them in was about double what was actually needed--oh darn! I have to make some more! ;-) I did wind up with only 40 cookies, but I guess I overestimated how big an inch is. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah Jacques

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Viennese Crescent Holiday Cookies

Serve a taste of tradition with these light, buttery cookies.

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Cookies Across America

See how you and your friends can decorate cookies for a good cause.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States