Viennese Crescent Holiday Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
Easy and tasty! My husband's grandmother claimed the whole batch for herself. This will be one of my holiday favorites to make each Christmas with my little girl. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
Not my favorite, but my mom really enjoyed them. They are very dry, however, my mom said she enjoyed them with coffee and reminded her of Russian Tea Cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: White Bear Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hudson, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
Perfect texture and delicious. I used almonds instead of hazelnuts, and next time, I will probably use almond extract instead of vanilla. To save time, I used some of the dough to make the linzer cookies on this site, and they also were yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lavalady
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
I LOVE these cookies. They are buttery and crumble/melt in your mouth. They are a bit of work but well worth it! These were my favorite out of all the christmas cookies I made this year. They are both visually appealing and tast very gourmet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lavalady

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
Amazing! For those who want to add the chocolate coating, I used the "chocolate covered strawberries" recipe. (Basically melt 8 oz of chocolate chips with 1 tablespoon of shortening. Dip cooled cookies into chocolate.) I really enjoyed these cookies plain & with chocolate! Hooray!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
161 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
This is the recipe I've used for years, minus the vanilla bean in the sugar, and using ground pecans inplace of the hazelnuts. My children love these cookies so much that one year when I didn't bake them due to illness, we ended up throwing a batch together on Christmas Eve just so it would "really" be Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SDK999

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Midland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
I have made these as Christmas gifts every year and everyone waits for them! My recipe is a bit different--I use almonds (very finely chopped), and 1/4 c regular sugar for the mix. (My recipe doesn't call for vanilla bean). I bake at a low temp (300) for about 30 minutes. The cookies should be rolled in powdered sugar twice--the first roll does absorb, but the second stays white and fluffy. I use a plastic bag in a bowl filled with the powdered sugar for easier rolling. My brother used to call these "fuzzy cookies". A great cookie no matter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
210 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
I made these with almonds as suggested by the submitter and they are quite good. I found one minute wasn't long enough for the cookies to cool before coating with sugar as the sugar just dissolved into the cookies. I waited until they were cool and rolled them in sugar again. These seem to freeze well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
A good reminder of the cookie I great up on. I didn't have the suggested nuts so I substituted it for chopped walnuts and they were still great! I'll be serving them this Christmas at a Christmas dinner I'm hosting next week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
Excellent!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Viennese Crescent Holiday Cookies

Serve a taste of tradition with these light, buttery cookies.

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States