Viennese Crescent Holiday Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
I tried 10 minutes at 375degrees and 30 minutes at 300 degrees and the longer time with shorter temp worked better. I had a difficult time dipping them in chocolate, with the sugar coating on it. I thought they were just OK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nikki Filippone
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
These were absolutely wonderful. Be careful when handling though, they break VERY easily. I dipped in melted chocolate and a few broke before I could place them back on the tray. If you are careful, you should be fine. I also sprinkled with confectioners sugar. Phenomenal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki Filippone

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
These cookies are so good that they are even yummy plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
I opted to toast my hazelnuts in a dry saucepan over medium heat until they were golden and smelled nutty. I'm a big fan of anything nutty so I even snuck in a couple of tbs. Frangelico. Be careful to wait a minute before attempting to remove from the cookie sheet. I broke a couple. These turned out to be very tender and oh so well received. BTW, I rolled the balls a little bigger than 1" so I ended up with 28 and I immediately started making another batch after tasting the broken ones. OH. MY. GOODNESS. I will be making these festive lil' crescents for holidays to come! The only complaint I have is my little nephew accused me of using 'dirty powdered sugar' on the cookies. I had to convince him the black specks were vanilla seeds so you may want to educate your loved ones prior to serving. LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baybee Caix

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
these are a favorite in my house during the holidays. i did use almonds because that's what i had on hand. i also omitted the vanilla sugar. i dipped them in melted dark chocolate as in the picture - they turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, California, USA
Living In: Fremont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
These were great cookies and a good recipe to make when you discover you don't have eggs in the fridge! My only complaint was that they kept breaking when I tried to dip them in chocolate (which resulted in me eating a lot more than I should have and giving away fewer.) Any suggestions for avoiding this?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
These were just ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Falls Church, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
Very good! I substituted walnuts for hazelnuts and made balls instead of crescents; the dough softens quickly and the points were crumbling. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
This recipe makes an exquisite cookie. It is the Christmas cookie for adults, and an excellent companion to a glass of dessert wine or espresso. Too many cookie recipes are far too sweet, but this is a keeper! Although some reviewers changed the recipe for their own tastes, the hazelnuts make this unique, a European flavor, and something different. HOpe no one substitutes the butter: its the butter that makes it rich, and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
I make this recipe without the nuts and love it. I keep the dough in the fridge and make a few at a time to have with coffee. I love how it melts in your mouth and it tastes great with the coffee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Viennese Crescent Holiday Cookies

Serve a taste of tradition with these light, buttery cookies.

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States