Viennese Crescent Holiday Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
to me, once the cookies cooled, they tasted greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mora, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
These were great! In Austria they call them Vanille Kipferl, and make them every Christmas. I made some with my bf's mom, but i don't like using a scale or anything, so i was so glad to find this recipe in the good old American system! I made a ton to send to my family, and my mom begged for the recipe! Not quite as good as my bf's mom's, but still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
I made these for the first time this year for part of my Christmas Cookie giveaway. They are delicious and so easy to make. Love the flavor. I used almonds and after baking and dusting with confectioner's sugar I dipped one end of the crescent in melted dark chocolate and put them on wax paper in the frig until the chocolate set. I'm going to make another batch this evening for our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yonkers, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
really great cookie...nice and airy! I drizzled some chocolate over them and sprinkled crushed hazlenuts over the chocolate. Really tasty cookie. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amanda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palmerton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Jim Thorpe, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
they melted in the oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
my mom made this recipe for over 20 years, we made it with walnuts instead and it always turns out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yara

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
I'm only giving these 2 in case it was operator error! These cookies were dry and had NO flavor! The dough was very hard to work with also, too crumbly to really shape nicely in my opinion. I did not try chocolate dipping them, but had so much powdered sugar it was like icing so I would think they should have been fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NDG42200

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
I've been making these cookies every Christmas for three years now, without the vanilla bean part (not necessary). They are very delicate and break easily, so I've considered making them into some other shape, but they are scrumptious cookies. With chocolate they must be even better. My dad loves them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Santiago De Los Caballeros, Santiago, Dominican Republic

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
I made these with ground almonds instead of the hazelnuts, and they turned out quite nice, almost like short bread. It is important that you dust them with powered sugar before they cool completely, as it won't stick otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
This dough is very similar to the russian tea cakes. I put aluminum foil in a cookie sheet, covered it with sifted powdered sugar and then laid the hot cookies on top of that. Then I sifted more sugar on top. This prevented me from having to handle them much. I re-sifted sugar over them after they were cooled. They were tender and light, although they break very easily. I am taking these to my child's Christmas party. I know I'll be the "good" mom! (No oreos here!!) Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kraley

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Viennese Crescent Holiday Cookies

Serve a taste of tradition with these light, buttery cookies.

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States