Viennese Crescent Holiday Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Best cookies I ever tasted, never mind ever baked! I used raw hazelnuts that I roasted the day before I did the recipe. The smell in the house was amazing when they baked! I would not dream of using any other nut, these are perfect with hazelnuts. Next batch, I will sprinkle the vanilla-flavoued icing sugar on an aliminum sheet and then sprinkle some over the hot cookies, to avoid handling them too much and so the coating is not too thick. The sugar melts and makes a nice tasty coating (the batter alone is not very sweet). Not sure I will coat with chocolate - they are great without it. Why mess with perfection?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
My daughter couldn't wait for these cookies to cool off! They are very tasty, but I was surprised to see a yield of 48 servings for the original recipe. We produced only 25-30 cookies. We found the suggestion of one reviewer very helpful: place the warm cookies on a cookie pan already covered in the sugar mixture, so as to minimize handling and ensure a complete coating. Also, the mixture is very crumbly. I found it helpful to squeeze the mixture in the palm of my hand, then shape it into a small log and then a crescent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
Tasty but the crescent shape made it difficult to get powdered sugar on all sides. There was also way too much powdered sugar for the dusting... ended up with a cup leftover. I'm not sure how everyone got the chocolate dip on so nicely... my chocolate just stuck to the powdered sugar and not the cookie. Still delicious, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashleyrose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Renton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
I guess I just expected something a bit more from a recipe with this good a rating. I honestly thought they were good, but essentially just wedding cookies with hazelnuts, and a little bit boring for what I was expecting. I followed the recipe exactly, no substitutions. Make sure you don't make them too large.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Addictive! Works very well for dipping in chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
Excellent! I used pecans, because that's all I had on hand. I also used half vanilla and half almond extract, but otherwise followed the recipe and they were sooo yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
I FOUND THE MIXTURE TO CRUMBLY, SO I ADDED AN EGG. THEY CAME OUT NICE AND WERE VERY TASTY. I AM GOING TO MAKE A SECOND BATCH, AND JUST FLATTEN THEM INTO ROUNDS....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
I made this recipe with almonds, and I skip the sugar to sprinkle, I just put the chocolat to save some calories, I add some sugar because my butter was salty, I do advice to let the cookies cool down for more than a minute, 5 0r 10 minutes it's better, because they breake easily, you must be really careful while you handle the cookies. Everyone loved the cookies! They go perfect with tea
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rome, Lazio, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
My mom always made those with almonds for xmas and tea parties and it was my fav cookie. she dipped the ends in choc and so do I.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Watson Lake, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
I don't use the vanilla bean - too much work. Just use a good quality pure vanilla extract when you make the dough, I prefer Mexican vanilla. Also, if you use an electric mixer to mix the dough until light, you have cookies that literally melt in your mouth. Amazing. Plus, for a different taste, use toasted pecans or almonds, chopped very fine. For the chocolate, use Belgian Chocolate instead of chocolate chips, a world of difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jean Sokolinski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morris, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sequim, Washington, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Viennese Crescent Holiday Cookies

Serve a taste of tradition with these light, buttery cookies.

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Cookies Across America

See how you and your friends can decorate cookies for a good cause.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States