Viennese Crescent Holiday Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
These cookies almost melt in your mouth! The only thing different I did was to use ground almonds instead of hazelnuts because I had them on hand and then switched in almond extract instead of vanilla. They are excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chris k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cary, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sauk City, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
Sorry - I read rave reviews and expected a winner.They were so dry that I ran back to the recipe to find out if I had left something out. They crumbled easily, and my boyfriend said that they "looked like slugs". I would not make them again, but I would like to try other cookies with ground hazelnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Somerset, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
I used ground walnuts for this recipe and like others, I omitted the vanilla bean. I baked them at 350 instead of 375, and they turned out perfect! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momily

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CakeGirl
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
These were so delicious and buttery. I used walnuts instead of hazelnuts because its what we had on hand, but they came out just blissfully delicious. I will be taking these to a cookie swap in January!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CakeGirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
I tried this recipe instead of my usual one for crescents and I was disappointed. Not the tender melt-in-your mouth cookie after all. I didn't make any changes to the original recipe. I won't make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
These taste fantastic! Relatively easy to make - just a tip for those trying this for the first time - I found I wasn't able to "roll" the dough into 3" pieces as the dough would just crumble. Took a bit more time than expected to assemble and get them in the oven - but they still turned out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
They are good but don't dip in chocolate, they are better left plain. Can make rounds instead of the crescent shape as it looks better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
These are ok, very sweet, i just put powdered sugar on them, the chocolate would not stick to mine! Kind of made a mess...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jpirrung

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
The cookies melt in the mouth!! My family esp my hubby is so impressed that he said I could open a bakery shop with this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
Such an old-fashioned cookie. My family really enjoyed them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Viennese Crescent Holiday Cookies

Serve a taste of tradition with these light, buttery cookies.

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States