Viennese Crescent Holiday Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Loved these!! I received so many compliments from these so much better than the plain crescent cookies, with that chocolate they were outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grant Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Beecher, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
I ran out of hazelnuts and substituted 1/2 the amount of pecans. I dipped half of the batch in dark chocolate. Great either way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clovis, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
nice holiday cookie. Light and flaky. I did not dip them in chocolate, but might try doing that next time. Definitely have to double the recipe for my family. My 4 year old grandson had fun shaping these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
These cookies almost melt in your mouth! The only thing different I did was to use ground almonds instead of hazelnuts because I had them on hand and then switched in almond extract instead of vanilla. They are excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris K in Wisconsin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cary, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sauk City, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
Sorry - I read rave reviews and expected a winner.They were so dry that I ran back to the recipe to find out if I had left something out. They crumbled easily, and my boyfriend said that they "looked like slugs". I would not make them again, but I would like to try other cookies with ground hazelnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Somerset, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
I used ground walnuts for this recipe and like others, I omitted the vanilla bean. I baked them at 350 instead of 375, and they turned out perfect! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momily

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CakeGirl
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
These were so delicious and buttery. I used walnuts instead of hazelnuts because its what we had on hand, but they came out just blissfully delicious. I will be taking these to a cookie swap in January!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CakeGirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
I tried this recipe instead of my usual one for crescents and I was disappointed. Not the tender melt-in-your mouth cookie after all. I didn't make any changes to the original recipe. I won't make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
These taste fantastic! Relatively easy to make - just a tip for those trying this for the first time - I found I wasn't able to "roll" the dough into 3" pieces as the dough would just crumble. Took a bit more time than expected to assemble and get them in the oven - but they still turned out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
They are good but don't dip in chocolate, they are better left plain. Can make rounds instead of the crescent shape as it looks better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Viennese Crescent Holiday Cookies

Serve a taste of tradition with these light, buttery cookies.

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Cookies Across America

See how you and your friends can decorate cookies for a good cause.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States