Viennese Crescent Holiday Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
I tried 10 minutes at 375degrees and 30 minutes at 300 degrees and the longer time with shorter temp worked better. I had a difficult time dipping them in chocolate, with the sugar coating on it. I thought they were just OK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nikki Filippone
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
These were absolutely wonderful. Be careful when handling though, they break VERY easily. I dipped in melted chocolate and a few broke before I could place them back on the tray. If you are careful, you should be fine. I also sprinkled with confectioners sugar. Phenomenal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki Filippone

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
These cookies are so good that they are even yummy plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
I opted to toast my hazelnuts in a dry saucepan over medium heat until they were golden and smelled nutty. I'm a big fan of anything nutty so I even snuck in a couple of tbs. Frangelico. Be careful to wait a minute before attempting to remove from the cookie sheet. I broke a couple. These turned out to be very tender and oh so well received. BTW, I rolled the balls a little bigger than 1" so I ended up with 28 and I immediately started making another batch after tasting the broken ones. OH. MY. GOODNESS. I will be making these festive lil' crescents for holidays to come! The only complaint I have is my little nephew accused me of using 'dirty powdered sugar' on the cookies. I had to convince him the black specks were vanilla seeds so you may want to educate your loved ones prior to serving. LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baybee Caix

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
these are a favorite in my house during the holidays. i did use almonds because that's what i had on hand. i also omitted the vanilla sugar. i dipped them in melted dark chocolate as in the picture - they turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, California, USA
Living In: Fremont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
These were great cookies and a good recipe to make when you discover you don't have eggs in the fridge! My only complaint was that they kept breaking when I tried to dip them in chocolate (which resulted in me eating a lot more than I should have and giving away fewer.) Any suggestions for avoiding this?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
These were just ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Falls Church, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
Very good! I substituted walnuts for hazelnuts and made balls instead of crescents; the dough softens quickly and the points were crumbling. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
This recipe makes an exquisite cookie. It is the Christmas cookie for adults, and an excellent companion to a glass of dessert wine or espresso. Too many cookie recipes are far too sweet, but this is a keeper! Although some reviewers changed the recipe for their own tastes, the hazelnuts make this unique, a European flavor, and something different. HOpe no one substitutes the butter: its the butter that makes it rich, and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
I make this recipe without the nuts and love it. I keep the dough in the fridge and make a few at a time to have with coffee. I love how it melts in your mouth and it tastes great with the coffee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Viennese Crescent Holiday Cookies

Serve a taste of tradition with these light, buttery cookies.

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Cookies Across America

See how you and your friends can decorate cookies for a good cause.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States