Vienna Schnitzel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2005
Left out the cake flour and used Panko crumbs instead. Also pounded the boneless pork chops very thin. This was good but uninspiring. My husband said, "pork fritters." The reason for the four rating is only because everything was eaten and there were no leftovers. For taste, I would rate it closer to a 3 or 3.5*. I think garlic powder might jazz things up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2005
Oh my, this was so very good. Probably not the healthiest, but real comfort food. I cooked them in my deep fryer and they came out perfect. I squeezed fresh lemon juice on them when they were served. Outstanding recipe and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2005
Great recipe One slight change I used Japanese Bread crumbs (PANKO) instead of regular Bread crumbs it gives it a crisper texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Waianae, Hawaii, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2004
Yum Yum! This was a great recipie! I didn't need all of the ingredients thou...could of halfed them. I just used oil in a pan too. easy and goooood! Thank you for sending it in!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2004
This recipe is a must. I use pork tenderloin and pound it very thin as it browns very fast in the deepfryer. I also use all-purpose flour instead of cake flour. Fresh lemon is a must. My husband no longer wants to go out for dinner. Even my kids love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2004
I made this for my boyfriend for a Valentine meal. I wasn't sure what to expect but it turned out delicious. I think next time I might cut the pork in smaller pieces before I pound them because they get huge. My boyfriend says they remind him of pork fritters. I fried them in a little bit of oil, not a deep fryer. I think left overs would be good between some bread, as a sandwhich. I'm glad I came across this recipe. I'll definately make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOLLYJOLLY
Home Town: Bluewater, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2003
I didn't have any cake mix so I used buttermilk pancake mix instead. Taking the advice to use some lemon I was going to make a lemon sauce but wasn't feeling THAT ambitious. I had leftover gravy from the Garlic Pork Roast recipe as well as a little garlic lemon (or lime) gravy I made from the Grecian Pork Tenderloin recipe (I'm a big fan of this recipe site!) I combined the two and WAHLA, as we say here in the tropics. The chops turned out nice and tender, crispy and puffy and the gravy added just the right touch! excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Clermont, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2003
I followed recipe exactly, pounding meat to thinness, flouring, egg wash, using plain bread crumbs, deep frying and serving it with lemon. It was very good (especially adding the lemon juice - never tried that before!) - but it tasted almost exactly like regular fried breaded pork chops. I've had vienna schnitzel in restaurants and their breading is outrageous (somewhat puffy - I can't explain it!!!) - have to find out what they use for that. I will cook this again since we liked the thinness and it cooked so quickly - try the lemon over the top!!! Thanks Frank. Update! I am updating this review and changing my 4 stars to five stars. In my search to duplicate what I've had in restaurants I tried making it with PANKO breadcrumbs and it was outrageous!!! I've actually become addicted to PANKO crumbs and so has my family. I use them almost all the time now when I bread chicken or pork. I don't care for them when breading veal cutlets (Italian style breadcrumbs win out for that) but two thumbs up for pork and chicken!!! If you can't find them in the supermarket (I couldn't) - buy it online from an Asian grocer. The crumbs normally come in cellephane bags. I'll buy ten bags at a time - as long as the bags are unopened they stay fresh. Try it fellow chefs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2003
My gran always made this for the whole family and to this day it remains one of family favorites. When I introduced my Cypriot hubby to it (he is very picky with his food), he loved it so much that he now insists I make it at least once a week. I would highly recommend it as it seems to be one of those all time favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belgrade, Central Serbia, Serbia
Living In: Nicosia, Nicosia, Cyprus

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2003
I don't deep fry this. I brown them in about 3 Tb. oil and cook on low until done. Sometimes I remove it to a baking sheet and finish in the oven. Just to cut down on the fat intake and it works just as well. I have also pounded the pork cutlets, dipped in beaten egg, salt and pepper then just dip in finely ground saltine cracker crumbs delicious and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Schnitzel with Dipping Sauce

What's cooking in San Antonio? Heavenly schnitzel with creamy sauce.

Okinawa Shoyu Pork

What's cooking in Colorado Springs? The best kind of Asian comfort food.

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States