Vienna Schnitzel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
This is a great schnitzel recipe as is, or can be a good foundation to do your own thing. First I brined the pork fillets in 4 cups of water, 1/4 cup salt, 1/4 cup sugar, and probably 1/4 to 1/3 cup of lemon juice. Next I minced one sprig of rosemary and added to the flour. I also subbed half regular bread crumbs and half panko that were chopped up finer in a food processor to get things a bit more crispy. After breading, I let the pork sit in a fridge for 30 minutes as per GERRILKY's advice, and it definitely helped keep the coating on the pork. It took about 3-4 minutes per side to get the schnitzel cooked perfect. I served with roasted asparagus and risotto.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amherst, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Napoli, Campania, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
Not hard to make and my German ancestry wife said it tasted as good as her Auntie's who was from Vienna. Used cake flour and panko bread crumbs but forgot the milk. Fried in olive oil in an electric fry pan. I put lemon juice over mine. Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEREZA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Perfect. I know this recipe as "Milanesa" and usually prepare it with beef. This was a delicious and foolproof recipe and I will use it again and again. My 4-year old completed the whole process with me and when I flipped the schnitzels over to reveal them golden brown he said, "THIS IS AWESOME!" It was priceless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
slice the pork very thinly from a port loin roast. Fry in electric skillet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by genechristopher
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
I made this tonight for the first time. I used CAKE FLOUR (found at the Food Lion, much more fine then regular flour, no, don't use corn meal. too thick), a few EGGS and splashes of milk as well as 4C seasoned bread crumbs. I used my garage mallet to flatten roughly 12 nice sized SIRLOIN CHOPS while they were (one at a time) inside a heavy plastic bag (freezer bag). Some of them I had to cut in half because I only have a little Fry Daddy. I then patted them in the flour and rinsed them through the egg/milk before mushing them in the crumbs. Once nicely coated, I folded them into layers in a heavy platic wrap (Great Value brand at the Walmart) and put them into the fridge for as close to a half hour as my family could wait. Someone in another review had that recommendation - I endorse it. I am used to using a little chill before cooking so know it makes sense. Watch out how long you have them in the hot oil, 5 - 7 minutes is plenty. Judge the color of the brown crumbs - too dark is well done. Pork should be cooked through so make sure you watch. My wife invited the neighbors over to sample - everyone wanted seconds..!! They even ate the mixed veggies I made with..! Pefect entre and wonderful part of any meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by genechristopher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Ohio, USA
Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
Amazing recipe! It was a huge hit in my house! The only alteration I made was using crushed Melba toast instead of breadcrumbs. The reason I did this was only because I realized too late that I didn't have enough breadcrumbs for all 6 cuts of pork. The Melba toast made for a crunchier coating, but that actually improved it for me! I also found that a cup of flour was a huge waste! Next time I will use only about half a cup flour for the coating. Definately will make again, probably three or four times a month!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oakville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
Used 1 Heaping Tablespoon Of Flour, Bread Crumbs With Black Pepper, And 1 Egg With 1/8 Cup Of Milk. Put Pork In The Refrigerator For 1/2 Hour Before Cooking. Cooked In Cast Iron Skillet. Put On Lemon Juice Once Plated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lina Hershberger

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
Great, flavorful, and easy! We didn't deep fry ours, but rather, sauteed in olive oil. I rubbed the pork with a mixture of garlic powder, chili powder, salt, and black pepper, and used the tenderloin cut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pasadena, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Schnitzel with Dipping Sauce

What's cooking in San Antonio? Heavenly schnitzel with creamy sauce.

Okinawa Shoyu Pork

What's cooking in Colorado Springs? The best kind of Asian comfort food.

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States