Vienna Schnitzel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2005
We enjoyed this version of Vienna Schnitzel and I would make it again--A tip you might try--After coating the meat place on plate--Cover with plastic wrap and put in "Frig." for @ least 1/2 hour--The coating will stick much better--This was advice from my German Father-in-Law
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
106 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2005
Yum! Easy to prepare and tasty to eat. I didn't have cake flour, so I used all-purpose with good results. I also just pan-fried in canola oil. Served with Stacey's Fabulous Purple Potato Gratin and Roasted Asparagus with Shallots. Very flavorful meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2005
DO NOT precook your chicken. Slice your chicken breast and using a kitchen mallet pound the meat out thin. Try sprinkling meat with garlic salt and paprika prior to breading it. My husband is Hungarian where Schnitzel is a very popular. You can use pork, veal or chicken. We serve this with whipped potatoes, cucumber salad, pickled red peppers or dill pickles. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TORONTOMOMMY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gaspe, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2006
This was amazing! It fried up crispy and perfect. I coated the meat, and then let it rest in the fridge for half an hour, and the breading stuck perfectly. I worked in small batches and moved the finished schnitzels to a rack in a warm oven, and they stayed crisp and perfect until dinner was ready. I served them with "German Spaetzle Dumplings" from this site, and lemon wedges to squeeze over the schnitzel, and it was fantastic! We used to go out to a Bavarian/Bohemian restaurant in the area for schnitzel and spaetzle and spend a small fortune on dinner. Now I know I can make just as good at home for half the price (or less!). Thanks for this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2005
This is great! I seasoned the meat with salt, pepper, garlic powder and paprika before breading. Also served with lemons to squeeze on top. Perfect texture! Goes great with red cabbage and potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Texarkana, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2001
This is the finest veal I have ever eaten.....be sure to pound it thin, and don't burn the oil. I am anxious to try it with pork!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oceanside, California, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2001
Delicious recipe--used it with pork - make sure to pound it into thin slices - and serve with lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2005
Great recipe. The breading has a perfect texture. I added 1/2 pkg of french onion soup mix to the bread crumbs, gave it a little more flavour, but if doing so be careful not to over salt because the soup mix is pretty salty. YUM:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2001
It is great, but it tastes better with some lemon on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2005
Great Recipe!!! We topped it with a roux made from stock using the neck bones (1 cup stock, 1 cup heavy cream, butter, flour, pepper, and salt.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Schnitzel with Dipping Sauce

What's cooking in San Antonio? Heavenly schnitzel with creamy sauce.

Chef John's City Chicken

See what happens when a small town drumstick goes to the big city.

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States