Vienna Schnitzel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
This is a great basic schnitzel recipe. The key is to really make sure that the flour and bread crumbs are pressed into the pork well so the breading doesn't fall off during or after cooking. Using enough salt and pepper makes a difference too. I used more than 2 cups of italian bread crumbs and probably more flour too, but also had almost 2 pounds of pork. The pork was thin sliced pork loin chops, which I cooked on a little hotter than a medium temp (almost medium-high) on my gas stove at 2 minutes per side in about 1/2 of oil in a deep skillet. Oh, and make sure to have plenty of paper towels on hand to soak up the grease after it's cooked or the oil will take over the flavor of the schnitzel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnitaMarie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Layton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2008
The proportions of this recipe are perfect. I'm always wasting flour, eggs and breadcrumbs when I guess. I used thin pork chops which worked perfectly. For a gravy I used the leftover sauce from "Beef Tips and Noodles" from this site. It was so tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CooperCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Algonquin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
This was great and easy to make. Even my son loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheCattlemansWife

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clovis, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Pie Town, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
Awesome authentic Schnitzel...I made this last week for a Christmas dinner party for 21. It was the talk of the party. My Husbands family is from Stein, Germany and I wanted to make something nice for them. My Mother-in-law raved over how good this was. She called everyone in Germany and told them what a great cook I am ! I served it with german potato salad & sauerkraut and fresh green beans with bacon. Thanks so much for this recipe. It is GREAT....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Blacklick, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
Sehr gut! This is the real Wiener schnitzel recipe!Cooked it many times. ;-)Always tastes good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zituka
Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROBINBRADY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Meridian, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
This schnitzel turned out even better than the ones from our local restaurant - and that is their speciality! I have made it many times and will continue to do so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
This was really, really good as is; however, although not technically "German", I think this could be improved by seasoning the bread crumbs with oregano and Parmesan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2007
MMM! Works great with pork cube steak or beef cube steak. I rolled mine in corn flour, then in the egg/milk batter, then italian breadcrumbs. Terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Irving, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
It was ok. I used veal, and some pieces were good, others tough and dry. I think it was because the thickness of the meat was a bit variable. I think pork would be better. The coating seemed to absorb quite a lot of oil as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Schnitzel with Dipping Sauce

What's cooking in San Antonio? Heavenly schnitzel with creamy sauce.

Okinawa Shoyu Pork

What's cooking in Colorado Springs? The best kind of Asian comfort food.

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States