Vienna Schnitzel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
Used pork tenderloin. Very tender and my family liked it even though they don't like pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
Was very good and authentic, but will probablly not make this very often because of the time it takes to pound the pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by El Burrito Carlito
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
We used fillets from a turkey breast; tender, savory, paper thin cutlets stayed tasty and moist in their crispy, mellow breading. A squeeze or two from a lemon wedge helped wake the dish up a bit, as well. With the simplicity of ingredients (though, and maybe it was just me, the cake flour seemed to make a big difference), this recipe is more about technique than anything else, and it's a technique a plan on mastering by cooking this over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by El Burrito Carlito

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Palos Hills, Illinois, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
Made this with skinless chicken thighs last night. My husband couldn't stop eating or raving about this. I'm thrilled to have something new to throw in the chicken rotation. Excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANDREALEEV

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
EXCELLENT recipe. Whenever I come home from school, my parents beg on their knees for me to make them this schnitzel! I recommend using crushed saltines as bread crumbs, but because they add some extra saltiness, adjust the rest of the salt accordingly. Happy cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissCellaneous

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Davie, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
Mmmmmmmmmm this turned out great. I used panko bread crumbs the crust was light and the meat was so moist. Definitly a keeper thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
This turned out great--tasted just like the ones I ate when I lived in Germany! The only thing I would add is what another reviewer said - put them in the freezer for a little while before cooking so the breading stays on better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
Very good recipe. However, it is REALLY important to let the cutlets sit in the frig after flouring for 20 minutes or so. It gives much better staying power for the breading to stick. Also, watch using store bought spiced breadcrumbs (e.g. "italian seasoned breadcrumbs")...plain breadcrumbs then seasoned with a bit of parsley, garlic, salt and pepper work really well. Finally, pork cutlets work just as well as veal--it's purely dependent on your taste. Pound them thin and you'll be sure to book them quick and easy. Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
I'm not sure why you need all the milk?? I just whisked the egg and it was fine, but I've never added milk to egg when used as a binder. Maybe I've been doing it wrong. I also mixed 1/2 Panko brdcrmbs w/ italian brdcrmbs because they hold together better while frying and stay super crisp tossed it w/ parm.cheese.. YUMMY! Made a mushroom sauce to top them with out of thanksgiving mushrooms I had leftover. Squirted a bit of lemon juice at the end... Thanks for the great idea! I had 1/2 a pork loin from a cpl days ago I needed to make into something and this hit the spot! Pounding it out makes it go a long way, made 7 good size pieces...Kids 4-12 loved it! (Minus the mushrooms :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bizycooker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
This is a great basic schnitzel recipe. The key is to really make sure that the flour and bread crumbs are pressed into the pork well so the breading doesn't fall off during or after cooking. Using enough salt and pepper makes a difference too. I used more than 2 cups of italian bread crumbs and probably more flour too, but also had almost 2 pounds of pork. The pork was thin sliced pork loin chops, which I cooked on a little hotter than a medium temp (almost medium-high) on my gas stove at 2 minutes per side in about 1/2 of oil in a deep skillet. Oh, and make sure to have plenty of paper towels on hand to soak up the grease after it's cooked or the oil will take over the flavor of the schnitzel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnitaMarie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Layton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Schnitzel with Dipping Sauce

What's cooking in San Antonio? Heavenly schnitzel with creamy sauce.

Chef John's City Chicken

See what happens when a small town drumstick goes to the big city.

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States