Vienna Schnitzel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 17, 2014
I tried this twice, and it just didn't work out. Maybe it was the meat I bought, maybe it was my technique, I don't know. :-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LibertyBelle78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davisburg, Michigan, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
My family liked these. But I wanted to suggest this: Try complementing it with cranberry sauce when you serve it. When I lived in Austria this was always served on the side. A great recipe is here on allrecipes titled Cranberry Relish I. It was a hit for Thanksgiving and goes great with this wiener schnitzel. (Warning, the recipe listed makes a large batch.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
I lived in Germany for about 6 years and my husband lived in Germany around 12 years. Each region has their own style (we loved them all), but this is by far the best recipe that we have tried in the states. We thought the cake flour was a little different, but decided to go with it. However, we do not like bread crumbs in our schnitzel, so we substituted them with Panko!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
yummy with homemade applesauce on the side!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Franklin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
very good, basic traditional starter recipe. Very light, all members of the family enjoyed it. For those people out there that like a heavier flavor to their meat, you can season the the crumbs with a bit of paprika and seasoning salt. Keep in mind though, once you start making additions to the recipe, you will loose the authentic original taste of the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrjcbk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
This was an easy dish to make the favor was great. We added some lemon juice. My husband loved it. will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tuscaloosa, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
This is sooooo good. Followed the recipe exactly and family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
This is terrific! I was mainly looking for a way to make really nice crispy cutlets, and this was perfect. Made a few adjustments: Used chicken breast pounded thin. For bread, used panko bread crumbs, to which we added granulated garlic and a bit of paprika. After coating, we let rest in fridge for 30 minutes as suggested. We cooked in peanut oil, as it has a high smoke point, and is very nice to sutee/fry like this. After cooking, we removed the chicken from the skillet, and made a mushroom gravy - a cup or so of chopped fresh mushrooms sauteed about 5 minutes until softened; added a couple tablespoons of flour, and heated until flour was light brown. Added 1/2 cup skim milk, and 1/2 c fat-free sour cream, and cooked until thick. Season with salt & pepper and other seasonings as desired. Very quick and easy. We didn't finish all of the chicken the first night, so we had left overs next night, and they reheated beautifully in the oven, and the coating stayed nice and crip and YUMMY! We will be making this many more times with chicken or pork (or other meats.) Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dogmom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
I made this tonight and followed the recipe nearly word for word... it was amazing! Instead of pork I used chicken, and cooked the fillet in a frying pan. It turned out incredibly flavorful and moist. Maybe the best piece of chicken I've made to date! A+!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Merkelicious

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
This is a great schnitzel recipe as is, or can be a good foundation to do your own thing. First I brined the pork fillets in 4 cups of water, 1/4 cup salt, 1/4 cup sugar, and probably 1/4 to 1/3 cup of lemon juice. Next I minced one sprig of rosemary and added to the flour. I also subbed half regular bread crumbs and half panko that were chopped up finer in a food processor to get things a bit more crispy. After breading, I let the pork sit in a fridge for 30 minutes as per GERRILKY's advice, and it definitely helped keep the coating on the pork. It took about 3-4 minutes per side to get the schnitzel cooked perfect. I served with roasted asparagus and risotto.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amherst, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Napoli, Campania, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pork Schnitzel with Dipping Sauce

What's cooking in San Antonio? Heavenly schnitzel with creamy sauce.

Okinawa Shoyu Pork

What's cooking in Colorado Springs? The best kind of Asian comfort food.

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States