Vidalia Sweet Onion Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
I have made this dip many times and it is always a winner. I chop the onions instead of slicing and they cook just fine. No crunchies. Also, if you use reduced fat mayo, it cuts down on the grease nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Spoerndle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Delish! I used asiago cheese instead of parmesan, and I caramelized the onions first. Also you really have to drain the oil off otherwise it will be too greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celeste

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Helena, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
I must say that it was lot better than I thought it would be. My friends loved i. made few changes. I diced onions, I used pepper jack cheese and used half mayo half sour cream. and some grated garlic. it turned out to be the bomb, on girl friend want me to make on saturday just to have keeper. don't get me wrong it was very good the way it was. I being a chef always have to personalize everything. sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOLJO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
Wow and Wow!! Here are changes I made with other raters suggestions: 1/2 cup mayo, 1/2 cup sour cream....substituted parmesan for asiago...2 "pressed" garlic cloves....ground pepper to taste and 2 pinches of herbs de providence. Awesomeness! Not greasy - great with toasted pita chips! New go to dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westport, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
This Dip is excellent!! The only change I made is, I sauteed the onions before making it, I did not want to have the crunch of the onion. I put it out at a work function, was gone in less than an hour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caroline
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
I have to admit, I could not use Vidalia for this recipe as winter is the completely wrong time to be able to find them. However, I did use yellow onions that I sauteed just a bit first to bring out their sweetness and then proceeded with the recipe as stated. Love this stuff - wayyyy too addicting and I could have eaten the whole thing myself. Next time I may follow another reviewer's suggestion and use lower fat mayo to cut down on the oiliness a bit, but it may have been due to a tad bit of overbaking as well. Still, wonderful, wonderful stuff. Thanks Jenn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brule, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Red Wing, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2010
goodl I did use 1/2 mayo and 1/2 sour creme. I diced the onions. Some one asked me at the party if this was a hashbrown casserole!! did kind of taste like it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
Your recipe inspired me to make a bite sized treat. I added chopped vidalia onion to thawed frozen creamed spinach, added it to phyllo cups and stacked with swiss, asiago,and parmesan. Baked for 5 mins. Delish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gods'Mrs.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Burnet, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
super easy, super good! the only change i made was to dice the onions instead of slicing as i thought that would make it easier to put on a cracker. it was delicious and was enjoyed by everyone!!! thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEFKULP

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honey Brook, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Narvon, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
I sliced the onions and then cut them into quarters. I can see topping slices of toasted baguette with this as well as spreading on crackers. Really good and easy recipe with nice presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

RITZ White Pizza Meatball Dip

See how to make the pizza meatball dip created by Lombardi's Pizza.

How to Make Spinach and Artichoke Dip

See how to make the ultimate cheesy party dip!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States