Vidalia Sweet Onion Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Delish. I think the suggestions to use low fat ingredients are wise; this is very oily. Next time, I may chop the onions rather than thinly slicing (I used a mandolin, so it was easy, but I think I'd like the texture of the chopped better). Also, it's a little bland, so the hot sauce helps a lot; I'd like to think of an additional vegetable to use, but not sure what would be a complementary flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SpecialKsGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Niceville, Florida, USA
Living In: Camarillo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
I have had this many times, always the first thing gone at a covered dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
I followed this recipe exactly, except for adding diced garlic. It was a huge hit at our family get-together and there was none left. Unlike other reviewers, I did not think it was too greasy using all mayo as opposed to half sour cream and half mayo. Absolutely great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
This dip is amazing!!! My grandmother put it on her steak along with her crackers...will make again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
This was seriously one of the best dip recipes I've tried. Aside from using light mayo I followed the recipe exactly and used a peeler to slice the onions thinly per other reviewers' suggestions. This was slightly time consuming but the end result was worth the effort. Served this with crackers on Christmas Eve and everyone ate it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
Your recipe inspired me to make a bite sized treat. I added chopped vidalia onion to thawed frozen creamed spinach, added it to phyllo cups and stacked with swiss, asiago,and parmesan. Baked for 5 mins. Delish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gods'Mrs.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Burnet, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caroline
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
I have to admit, I could not use Vidalia for this recipe as winter is the completely wrong time to be able to find them. However, I did use yellow onions that I sauteed just a bit first to bring out their sweetness and then proceeded with the recipe as stated. Love this stuff - wayyyy too addicting and I could have eaten the whole thing myself. Next time I may follow another reviewer's suggestion and use lower fat mayo to cut down on the oiliness a bit, but it may have been due to a tad bit of overbaking as well. Still, wonderful, wonderful stuff. Thanks Jenn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brule, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Red Wing, Minnesota, USA
Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
I sliced the onions and then cut them into quarters. I can see topping slices of toasted baguette with this as well as spreading on crackers. Really good and easy recipe with nice presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
I made this for a few parties and it was always a big hit. Very easy and delicious. The only reason I did not give it 5 stars is that it tends to be on the greasy side, even though I used reduced fat products.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
A gal at work brought this dip in; it was so wonderful that I'm making some to bring to my brothers house today for Super Bowl Sunday! It is a very yummy dip, but you have to really like onions and cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlaskaRaised

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

RITZ White Pizza Meatball Dip

See how to make the pizza meatball dip created by Lombardi's Pizza.

How to Make Spinach and Artichoke Dip

See how to make the ultimate cheesy party dip!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States