Vidalia Onion Tart Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2003
Loved it! I used sweet red onion and added 50% more onion than the recipe called for. The purple color really added to the presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corrina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Antrim, County Antrim, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2004
This was very good. I used refrig. biscuit dough instead and I didn't have any sour cream so I used part cream cheese and part mayo and it turned out great. I had to beg my husband to try it, but he loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VALENZANO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petaluma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2002
Wonderful flavor and texture. And, so versatile...this could be served as an appetizer, sidedish or entre with a salad and bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anastasia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Moscow, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2003
Great recipe! I cut some of the fat by using skim evaporated milk and/or skim sour cream and I still got great results. The leek soup mix adds tremendous flavor, as does the monterey jack cheese with bits of peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2003
Great basic receipe. To make it a bit more filling I added 1 lb of sausage. My two teenage sons actually loved this, I was suprised. They asked that I make it again for Christmas. Looks like we might have an annual thing here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2003
This was a big hit at Christmas Eve dinner this year - I served a small slice on a pool of Bechamel sauce (http://pasta.allrecipes.com/az/BechamelSauce.asp), with some cheddar cheese thrown in for color, as a first course. It was well-received and made good leftovers, too. In the interest of time, I used a frozen deep-dish pie shell (Pet-Ritz), and I found that I had about 1/2 to 3/4c. too much filling after filling the shell to the brim. Although the recipe is vague, the only leek soup mix packets I could find in the supermarket were by Knorr, so that is what I used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENSPIN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2004
This was excellent, we made it with out the pie shell and doubled it. Everyone raved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Niagara Falls, New York, USA
Living In: Powder Springs, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2004
Everyone loved this! I made it without the crust and put 2 cups of cheese in it to make sure it held together nicely. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2004
LOVED IT! I served this to 7 different people and they all loved it! The only change I made was I substituted Top the Tator Sour Cream and I added chopped green onions too. Great Recipe, Thank-you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2005
Wow!! Everything about this was wonderful, the flavor... the texture... everything!! I made one as a test before making another for an Easter appetizer. It was the first thing gone and everyone wanted the recipe. I followed the recipe exactly and it was perfect. I am just getting ready to make two more, I can't wait!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Oven-Baked Onion Rings

See how to make crispy onion rings in the oven.

Old-Fashioned Onion Rings

Make these delicious, satisfying onion rings from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States