Vidalia Onion Tart Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 14, 2005
Absolutely wonderful! One of the best recipes I've made from this site. I used the entire pack of Knorr's (1.8 oz) but wonder if 1/2 a pack would be enough? I had some extra filling (3/4 cup) that I justed baked in a small casserole. It held fine. I really liked the flaky taste of the crust the day I baked the tart, but the next day I really couldn't taste the crust. I would probably leave the crust out unless making it for company. Save some calories and some $$. Definitely not an inexpensive dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOMOFCASSIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Martinsburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Duncansville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2004
LOVED IT! I served this to 7 different people and they all loved it! The only change I made was I substituted Top the Tator Sour Cream and I added chopped green onions too. Great Recipe, Thank-you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2002
Wonderful flavor and texture. And, so versatile...this could be served as an appetizer, sidedish or entre with a salad and bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anastasia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Moscow, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2004
This was excellent, we made it with out the pie shell and doubled it. Everyone raved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Niagara Falls, New York, USA
Living In: Powder Springs, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2003
Great recipe! I cut some of the fat by using skim evaporated milk and/or skim sour cream and I still got great results. The leek soup mix adds tremendous flavor, as does the monterey jack cheese with bits of peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2005
Wow!! Everything about this was wonderful, the flavor... the texture... everything!! I made one as a test before making another for an Easter appetizer. It was the first thing gone and everyone wanted the recipe. I followed the recipe exactly and it was perfect. I am just getting ready to make two more, I can't wait!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2003
This was a big hit at Christmas Eve dinner this year - I served a small slice on a pool of Bechamel sauce (http://pasta.allrecipes.com/az/BechamelSauce.asp), with some cheddar cheese thrown in for color, as a first course. It was well-received and made good leftovers, too. In the interest of time, I used a frozen deep-dish pie shell (Pet-Ritz), and I found that I had about 1/2 to 3/4c. too much filling after filling the shell to the brim. Although the recipe is vague, the only leek soup mix packets I could find in the supermarket were by Knorr, so that is what I used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENSPIN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
I have made this Onion Tart twice for brunch, it is a definite people pleaser, I will definitely use it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2005
The texture was good, but the flavor needed an extra something--perhaps a bit of hot sauce or chili flakes. Besides the obvious flavor of onion, this pie was a bit bland. If I make this recipe again, I will take the other reviewer's advice and try Monterey Pepper Jack Cheese for a little extra kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2005
This is hands down the best recipe I have made off of this site! I used about a half lb of spicy pork sausage and pepper jack cheese. Has a very good complex flavor and was easy to make, presentation was excellent. The guys especially liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Oven-Baked Onion Rings

See how to make crispy onion rings in the oven.

Old-Fashioned Onion Rings

Make these delicious, satisfying onion rings from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States