Vidalia Onion Tart Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 2, 2006
+++ This is my new favorite! From the advice of others saying there was a little too much, I added another egg and more cheese and split it b/t two crusts. Also, I have to agree that the store bought crust pales in comparison to a homemade one, but suit yourself. I still give it my highest compliments to the combination of taste, flavor and texture. One other note: I would recommend cutting the onion through the stem, laying it flat, and slicing it that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2006
I follwed the recipe exactly...it tasted pretty good, yet the knife never really did come out completely clean, and overall, the dish seemed really oily. Any suggestions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2006
Very nice compliment dish! I made it exactly according to the directions. I was glad I used a whopper onion because the flavor was just right. I'm allll for a short cut, but I won't use a store purchased crust again. It was probably the weakest part of the recipe. Good flavor, and we enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dung Beetle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
I have made this Onion Tart twice for brunch, it is a definite people pleaser, I will definitely use it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2005
This is hands down the best recipe I have made off of this site! I used about a half lb of spicy pork sausage and pepper jack cheese. Has a very good complex flavor and was easy to make, presentation was excellent. The guys especially liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2005
The texture was good, but the flavor needed an extra something--perhaps a bit of hot sauce or chili flakes. Besides the obvious flavor of onion, this pie was a bit bland. If I make this recipe again, I will take the other reviewer's advice and try Monterey Pepper Jack Cheese for a little extra kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2005
Absolutely wonderful! One of the best recipes I've made from this site. I used the entire pack of Knorr's (1.8 oz) but wonder if 1/2 a pack would be enough? I had some extra filling (3/4 cup) that I justed baked in a small casserole. It held fine. I really liked the flaky taste of the crust the day I baked the tart, but the next day I really couldn't taste the crust. I would probably leave the crust out unless making it for company. Save some calories and some $$. Definitely not an inexpensive dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOMOFCASSIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Martinsburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Duncansville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2005
This recipe was easy to prepare. The onions were sweet and the tart was really tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Cedar Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2005
Wow!! Everything about this was wonderful, the flavor... the texture... everything!! I made one as a test before making another for an Easter appetizer. It was the first thing gone and everyone wanted the recipe. I followed the recipe exactly and it was perfect. I am just getting ready to make two more, I can't wait!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2004
LOVED IT! I served this to 7 different people and they all loved it! The only change I made was I substituted Top the Tator Sour Cream and I added chopped green onions too. Great Recipe, Thank-you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Oven-Baked Onion Rings

See how to make crispy onion rings in the oven.

Old-Fashioned Onion Rings

Make these delicious, satisfying onion rings from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States