Vidalia Onion Tart Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2006
This one is going to take some fiddling to come up with a tart to suit my taste. I couldn't fink leek soup mix so I used a veggie soup mix. It was way too salty, and the soup overpowered the caramelized onion. I really like the idea of this tart so I'm not going to give up. I'm going to try this again and omit the soup altogether and see what I get.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2006
This was an OK quiche. I didn't care for the odd flavor of the soup mix -- tasted (and was) artificial. I have better quiche recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2006
+++ This is my new favorite! From the advice of others saying there was a little too much, I added another egg and more cheese and split it b/t two crusts. Also, I have to agree that the store bought crust pales in comparison to a homemade one, but suit yourself. I still give it my highest compliments to the combination of taste, flavor and texture. One other note: I would recommend cutting the onion through the stem, laying it flat, and slicing it that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2006
I follwed the recipe exactly...it tasted pretty good, yet the knife never really did come out completely clean, and overall, the dish seemed really oily. Any suggestions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2006
Very nice compliment dish! I made it exactly according to the directions. I was glad I used a whopper onion because the flavor was just right. I'm allll for a short cut, but I won't use a store purchased crust again. It was probably the weakest part of the recipe. Good flavor, and we enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dung Beetle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
I have made this Onion Tart twice for brunch, it is a definite people pleaser, I will definitely use it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2005
This is hands down the best recipe I have made off of this site! I used about a half lb of spicy pork sausage and pepper jack cheese. Has a very good complex flavor and was easy to make, presentation was excellent. The guys especially liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2005
The texture was good, but the flavor needed an extra something--perhaps a bit of hot sauce or chili flakes. Besides the obvious flavor of onion, this pie was a bit bland. If I make this recipe again, I will take the other reviewer's advice and try Monterey Pepper Jack Cheese for a little extra kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2005
Absolutely wonderful! One of the best recipes I've made from this site. I used the entire pack of Knorr's (1.8 oz) but wonder if 1/2 a pack would be enough? I had some extra filling (3/4 cup) that I justed baked in a small casserole. It held fine. I really liked the flaky taste of the crust the day I baked the tart, but the next day I really couldn't taste the crust. I would probably leave the crust out unless making it for company. Save some calories and some $$. Definitely not an inexpensive dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOMOFCASSIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Martinsburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Duncansville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2005
This recipe was easy to prepare. The onions were sweet and the tart was really tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Cedar Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Oven-Baked Onion Rings

See how to make crispy onion rings in the oven.

Old-Fashioned Onion Rings

Make these delicious, satisfying onion rings from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States