Vidalia Onion Tart Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
Flawless. I don't know about that yielding 8 portions, because I ate about half of it in one sitting :) and the rest disappeared just as fast. Delicate texture, nice caramelized onion taste, perfect balance of ingredients, and not too many of those - which helps with the planning, even though I am not a fan of evaporated milk... Just a perfect vegetarian dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
I like this a lot, but it is very rich. I ate the leftovers cold for lunch the next day, and I thought it had a very clean taste when cold. Am curious as to how it would turn out topped with cheese for a little extra texture variation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessika393
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2008
I thought this was good. It is a simple onion tart. I agree w/ others- good as a side dish. I wish I had put something else in it- maybe mushrooms? I think it'd be good with steak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessika393

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2008
Nothing short of awesome!! I used fat free evaporated milk, Egg Beaters, fat free mozarella cheese and substituted 3 crushed chicken boullion cubes for the leek soup mix. My husband absolutely loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
Ok, this is so good! Like another person suggested, you can cut down on the Knorr seasoning a bit, maybe even using just half a package. Aside from that, this tart is so easy and so incredibly yummy whether you make your own crust or not!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
Delicious! I have made it a couple times and always get so many compliments on it. I didn't change a thing. The last time I made it I couldn't find Vidalia onions anywhere so I just used a sweet onion and it turned out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2006
Beautiful. I have made this many times and each time they are great. I've used yellow onions but the sweet vidalia does turn out nicer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by britishcolumbiagirl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2006
This one is going to take some fiddling to come up with a tart to suit my taste. I couldn't fink leek soup mix so I used a veggie soup mix. It was way too salty, and the soup overpowered the caramelized onion. I really like the idea of this tart so I'm not going to give up. I'm going to try this again and omit the soup altogether and see what I get.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2006
This was an OK quiche. I didn't care for the odd flavor of the soup mix -- tasted (and was) artificial. I have better quiche recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2006
+++ This is my new favorite! From the advice of others saying there was a little too much, I added another egg and more cheese and split it b/t two crusts. Also, I have to agree that the store bought crust pales in comparison to a homemade one, but suit yourself. I still give it my highest compliments to the combination of taste, flavor and texture. One other note: I would recommend cutting the onion through the stem, laying it flat, and slicing it that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Oven-Baked Onion Rings

See how to make crispy onion rings in the oven.

Old-Fashioned Onion Rings

Make these delicious, satisfying onion rings from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States