Vidalia Onion Tart Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
This recipe was fun to make for me..I did tho..saute thinly sliced potatoes to put on the bottom of the pie crust..then filled with the filling ..its a texture thing for me..instead montery Jack cheese(cant get it in Zanzibar) I used mozzerella only on the top.Browned so beautifully.Also I had to use yogurt instad of sour cream(cant get that here either)Off it went to a full on Italian gathering,and everyone loved loved loved it!Aaah perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoGee

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nungwi, Zanzibar North, Tanzania

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
Flawless. I don't know about that yielding 8 portions, because I ate about half of it in one sitting :) and the rest disappeared just as fast. Delicate texture, nice caramelized onion taste, perfect balance of ingredients, and not too many of those - which helps with the planning, even though I am not a fan of evaporated milk... Just a perfect vegetarian dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
I like this a lot, but it is very rich. I ate the leftovers cold for lunch the next day, and I thought it had a very clean taste when cold. Am curious as to how it would turn out topped with cheese for a little extra texture variation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessika393
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2008
I thought this was good. It is a simple onion tart. I agree w/ others- good as a side dish. I wish I had put something else in it- maybe mushrooms? I think it'd be good with steak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessika393

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2008
Nothing short of awesome!! I used fat free evaporated milk, Egg Beaters, fat free mozarella cheese and substituted 3 crushed chicken boullion cubes for the leek soup mix. My husband absolutely loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
Ok, this is so good! Like another person suggested, you can cut down on the Knorr seasoning a bit, maybe even using just half a package. Aside from that, this tart is so easy and so incredibly yummy whether you make your own crust or not!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
Delicious! I have made it a couple times and always get so many compliments on it. I didn't change a thing. The last time I made it I couldn't find Vidalia onions anywhere so I just used a sweet onion and it turned out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2006
Beautiful. I have made this many times and each time they are great. I've used yellow onions but the sweet vidalia does turn out nicer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by britishcolumbiagirl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2006
This one is going to take some fiddling to come up with a tart to suit my taste. I couldn't fink leek soup mix so I used a veggie soup mix. It was way too salty, and the soup overpowered the caramelized onion. I really like the idea of this tart so I'm not going to give up. I'm going to try this again and omit the soup altogether and see what I get.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2006
This was an OK quiche. I didn't care for the odd flavor of the soup mix -- tasted (and was) artificial. I have better quiche recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Oven-Baked Onion Rings

See how to make crispy onion rings in the oven.

Old-Fashioned Onion Rings

Make these delicious, satisfying onion rings from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States