Vidalia Onion Tart Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 11, 2015
This tart was so delish! I have 10 lbs of Vidalia onions so I will definitely be making this again and again in the coming weeks. It was so simple to make and I ate all the leftovers. I think it was even better the next day. Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Wetumpka, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gabriel Dubon
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
This recipe was amazing. My partner and I used to order this tart every time we went on a cruise and now I can make it any time I want. 5 stars don't do this recipe justice. I substituted the evaporated milk with heavy whipping cream and it turned out great. Thanks most kindly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cooks2boys
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
Absolutely LOVE this! Every time I ask my husband what kind of quiche he wants me to make, this is the one he requests time and time again! The flavor is heavenly. The only change I made was to cut the onion amount in half because we eat this for breakfast! I even bring a slice for lunch and all of my co-workers ask what smells so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Caledonia, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
Delicious!! I did add mushrooms... will try zucchini and other veggies. If you add veggies, you will be able to get two pies out of it. A definite make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
This was incredible. Made more than would fit in a standard pie shell, so I baked the extra without crust and it was still awesome. Subbed fat-free evaporated milk and nonfat greek yogurt for the sour cream to lighten it up a little. Might use less soup mix next time to ease up on the salt. All in all, though, totally delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
Simple and quick , I used pepper jack cheese to add a little spice. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
i added i large onion, 1 zucchini, and 1 yellow squash. Next time Ill add 2 onions. Store bought pie crust works really well, I used 2 crusts to make a rectangular pan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
Made exactly as written. Very easy to make, yet is very impressive to serve! I served this as side dish, as it is very light. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
I made this for a party, but I lost my evaporated milk and used cream, I added bacon, and I substituted gryere for M. Jack...I also did it in individual tart shells...it was a big hit and I was asked for the recipe...very versatile, I would make it again...I think the leek soup mix makes a big difference, nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
So delicious. I followed the recipe except made it "light" by using skim evaporated milk, egg whites, light sour cream. I also added a packet of onion soup mix and a dash or 2 of crushed red peppers to give it some zip. It was to die for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Oven-Baked Onion Rings

See how to make crispy onion rings in the oven.

Old-Fashioned Onion Rings

Make these delicious, satisfying onion rings from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States