Vidalia Onion Tart Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2006
I follwed the recipe exactly...it tasted pretty good, yet the knife never really did come out completely clean, and overall, the dish seemed really oily. Any suggestions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2006
Very nice compliment dish! I made it exactly according to the directions. I was glad I used a whopper onion because the flavor was just right. I'm allll for a short cut, but I won't use a store purchased crust again. It was probably the weakest part of the recipe. Good flavor, and we enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dung Beetle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
I have made this Onion Tart twice for brunch, it is a definite people pleaser, I will definitely use it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2005
This is hands down the best recipe I have made off of this site! I used about a half lb of spicy pork sausage and pepper jack cheese. Has a very good complex flavor and was easy to make, presentation was excellent. The guys especially liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2005
The texture was good, but the flavor needed an extra something--perhaps a bit of hot sauce or chili flakes. Besides the obvious flavor of onion, this pie was a bit bland. If I make this recipe again, I will take the other reviewer's advice and try Monterey Pepper Jack Cheese for a little extra kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2005
Absolutely wonderful! One of the best recipes I've made from this site. I used the entire pack of Knorr's (1.8 oz) but wonder if 1/2 a pack would be enough? I had some extra filling (3/4 cup) that I justed baked in a small casserole. It held fine. I really liked the flaky taste of the crust the day I baked the tart, but the next day I really couldn't taste the crust. I would probably leave the crust out unless making it for company. Save some calories and some $$. Definitely not an inexpensive dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOMOFCASSIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Martinsburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Duncansville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2005
This recipe was easy to prepare. The onions were sweet and the tart was really tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Cedar Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2005
Wow!! Everything about this was wonderful, the flavor... the texture... everything!! I made one as a test before making another for an Easter appetizer. It was the first thing gone and everyone wanted the recipe. I followed the recipe exactly and it was perfect. I am just getting ready to make two more, I can't wait!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2004
LOVED IT! I served this to 7 different people and they all loved it! The only change I made was I substituted Top the Tator Sour Cream and I added chopped green onions too. Great Recipe, Thank-you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2004
This was very good. I used refrig. biscuit dough instead and I didn't have any sour cream so I used part cream cheese and part mayo and it turned out great. I had to beg my husband to try it, but he loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VALENZANO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petaluma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Oven-Baked Onion Rings

See how to make crispy onion rings in the oven.

Old-Fashioned Onion Rings

Make these delicious, satisfying onion rings from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States