Vidalia Onion Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
I live in Vidalia! I've never had an onion pie and this is a GREAT recipe! I added a jar of sweet red peppers and probably put in a little bit more cheese. It was beautiful and it tasted like Heaven. Thank you so very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Barr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vidalia, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2010
Having moved south a few years ago, one thing I've fallen in love with is Vidalia Onions. They're readily available and cheap in the spring, and I'm always looking for new ways to work them into foods. Everyone turned their noses up when I said "onion pie". But, this disappeared fast. Very different, but very good. After the first bit, I wasn't sure, but the more you eat, the more you love it. I cut the recipe in half and used a frozen pie crust (didn't cook it first, and the crust came out perfectly). Next time, the only change I'd make would be more hot sauce. I love the touch of heat in this pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arasmas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hatchi
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
I used egg beaters and lowfat sourcream and it was still delicious! I gave one pir to my neighbors and they were very grateful! This is a must make ANYTIME of the year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
Y-U-M! My favorite thing about this recipe is that I make about 8 at a time, cook them all, and stick them in the freezer. I always have a ready-made dish for any event that requires me to bring something....and everyone LOVES it! Good hot or even cold!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by inounvme
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
Very good. I topped the pie with cooked bacon crumbled and only a bottom crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inounvme

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
I thought it worked great as a side. We loved it ! We had an all veggie dinner: grilled corn; grilled zucchini; and the vidalia onion pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
Excellent. Sort of like a quiche. I put lattice work over the top to fool my kids into thinking we were having "pie" for dinner on april fools day. This would be better as a brunch meal or add maybe some chopped ham to make it a main dinner dish. Dosent work really well as a side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffin Mom N Garlic Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmerton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
My father requested that I make an onion pie. I had NEVER heard of an onion pie and to be honest, it did not sound good at all. After making this the first one, I did an experiment and added Italian Turkey Sausage. That was the worst thing I could have done. Ever since then his buddies have requested one after another and another.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
Great tasting, easy to make, but was surprised at how "eggy" this dish was. Next time, I will serve it at a brunch instead of a sidedish at dinner. Must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
I cut the recipe in half and made 1 pie. Delicious! I added more onions then reduced and carmelized them for that sweet flavor. Added chopped tomato and a few bacon bits. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Oven-Baked Onion Rings

See how to make crispy onion rings in the oven.

Old-Fashioned Onion Rings

Make these delicious, satisfying onion rings from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States