Vidalia Onion Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by pinkkali
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
AWESOME!!! I made with egg beaters, a daisy reduced fast sour cream, I also added more grated cheese then the recipe called for. It is delicious everyone will love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
This came out with a nice sweet taste. I brought it to a pot luck and my girlfriends enjoyed it. I added mozz cheese to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: May 5, 2011
this was delicious!i bought the 10 lb bag of vidalias at costco and used 7 of them for the recipe.the only change i made was adding a little less than 1 tsp of cajun seasoning instead of salt and pepper, and sprinkling some real bacon bits on top of the pies before baking them.this recipe filled 2 sara lee deep dish pie shells.it was soooo yummy!i froze one pie to eat later.i made sure to really let the onions get good and soft to bring out all their sweetness.thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
I made a bunch of different pies for Pi Day, and this is the one we have all been reaching for the most! I did have trouble understanding about cooking the onions for 10 minutes till clear and soft; it took a good 30 minutes before I felt they were finally ready. But we really love the taste of this pie and wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
This was my first time having Vidalia Onion pie and I thought it was great! Perfect recipe to use up those extra onions from Costco! No changes are necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hoveyfox

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
This is a great recipe! It was an instant hit with my family and is sure to become a regular at our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Durant, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
Great recipe, I made it with bacon bits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
I live in Vidalia! I've never had an onion pie and this is a GREAT recipe! I added a jar of sweet red peppers and probably put in a little bit more cheese. It was beautiful and it tasted like Heaven. Thank you so very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vidalia, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
Having moved south a few years ago, one thing I've fallen in love with is Vidalia Onions. They're readily available and cheap in the spring, and I'm always looking for new ways to work them into foods. Everyone turned their noses up when I said "onion pie". But, this disappeared fast. Very different, but very good. After the first bit, I wasn't sure, but the more you eat, the more you love it. I cut the recipe in half and used a frozen pie crust (didn't cook it first, and the crust came out perfectly). Next time, the only change I'd make would be more hot sauce. I love the touch of heat in this pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arasmas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hatchi
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
I used egg beaters and lowfat sourcream and it was still delicious! I gave one pir to my neighbors and they were very grateful! This is a must make ANYTIME of the year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Oven-Baked Onion Rings

See how to make crispy onion rings in the oven.

Old-Fashioned Onion Rings

Make these delicious, satisfying onion rings from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States