Vidalia Onion Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 13, 2013
Made a variation of this as a light meal, and everyone luved it. Included optional sweet peppers and ground beef. Cooked onions and sweet peppers using half the butter specified in recipe and a couple shots of sweet soy sauce. Mixed with the eggs and sour cream, used 1/2 cup cheddar cheese in lieu of Parmesan, and seasoned lightly with Creole seasoning from this site. Browned 3/4 lb. ground beef . . . in a separate bowl mixed beef with a few squirts of BBQ sauce. Poured onion mixture into pie shells filling both half full, followed by a layer of hamburger, and remaining onion mixture as the last layer. Omitted paprika and hot sauce. After switching to the lower oven temp, spread mozzarella cheese over top of pies, and baked until lightly brown on top. A nice change of pace, and ooh so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
The hot sauce totally ruined this dish. Otherwise, you've basically got an onion quiche. Too bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chairman James

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Breckenridge Hills, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
I had a big bag of sweet onions I needed to use up, so I made this to accompany a roast chicken. Hubs and I agree it is just ok as written. Two things though - I did not use a crust and I used reduced fat sour cream. We found the final product quite bland and sort of eggy/curdled. If I make again, I will make the custard more rich and add more Texas Pete. I think some sharp white cheddar would be a good addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
So good. I leave out the hot sauce 'cuz I'm a big ole' sissy. But I serve this for brunch, lunch, or dinner. I'm making two this Christmas, one for my father-in-law and one for my husband's grandfather.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
Made as-written I give this 3 stars. I had higher hopes for it. I carmelized my onions and used a little more than called for. Not bad, but too eggy and "gloopy" for me. I made it better the second time by turning it into a sort of pierogie pie. I added mashed potato flakes, some milk, and shredded cheddar cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
This was excellent! I even froze one of them after baking and reheated, and it was just as good. A lovely onion quiche-type dish. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
We are getting wonderful Vidalia onions here so I wanted to try this for dinner. I halved the recipe and used two large softball onions as well as homemade pie crust. It was delicious! I didn't bother with the paprika. I think you could add any number of things to this like broccoli, spinach, bacon and/or tomatoes. I think you could also play with the cheese like using Swiss. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
Delicious! I made this with egg substitute , half the butter, 1/4 less sour cream and no crust and it was still tasty. This cut out a lot of calories yet it turned out really well....I will definitely be making this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
This is a winner. Family now requests that I bring it to gatherings. Note that the recipe makes two pies, so I either adjust for one pie or make two and throw one in the freezer to bake when I need it. Also, a few crumbled Ritz crackers on top add a nice flavor and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
This pie is great! I make it crust free as we have a celiac member of the family and it's still great. Even my teenager love this and she's always suspicious of onions. Also, I sub creme fraiche for the sour cream which may make it a little thicker (I've never tried the sour cream). Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Oven-Baked Onion Rings

See how to make crispy onion rings in the oven.

Old-Fashioned Onion Rings

Make these delicious, satisfying onion rings from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States