Vidalia Onion Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by j.arbski
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2015
I feel a little dishonest reviewing this recipe even though I altered both the cooking method as well as the ingredients. 1st, I pre cooked the pie shells for 15 minutes at 375, as I was a bit concerned about sogginess. 2nd and 3rd were ingredient adjustments - diced ham and 1/4 cup of shredded sharp cheddar cheese, as I had them leftover. I ended up with two amazing pies that I am sure did not need my adjustments. Absolutely delicious!! My 5 year old was arguing with me - with a mouthful of pie - that she doesn't like onions, eggs or cheese. Hehehehe. Awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2015
I loved it but the family didn't. The crust did get soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jennifer
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
I had a store bought pie crust in the fridge that I needed to use - this seemed like a good way. It was great! Halved the recipe because I had one pie crust - but used 3 eggs. Other than that made it as directed. Delicious with the salmon croquettes from this site!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Urbana, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2013
Made a variation of this as a light meal, and everyone luved it. Included optional sweet peppers and ground beef. Cooked onions and sweet peppers using half the butter specified in recipe and a couple shots of sweet soy sauce. Mixed with the eggs and sour cream, used 1/2 cup cheddar cheese in lieu of Parmesan, and seasoned lightly with Creole seasoning from this site. Browned 3/4 lb. ground beef . . . in a separate bowl mixed beef with a few squirts of BBQ sauce. Poured onion mixture into pie shells filling both half full, followed by a layer of hamburger, and remaining onion mixture as the last layer. Omitted paprika and hot sauce. After switching to the lower oven temp, spread mozzarella cheese over top of pies, and baked until lightly brown on top. A nice change of pace, and ooh so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
The hot sauce totally ruined this dish. Otherwise, you've basically got an onion quiche. Too bad. -- Addendum: I lowered the hot sauce amount and got a really good dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chairman James

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Breckenridge Hills, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
I had a big bag of sweet onions I needed to use up, so I made this to accompany a roast chicken. Hubs and I agree it is just ok as written. Two things though - I did not use a crust and I used reduced fat sour cream. We found the final product quite bland and sort of eggy/curdled. If I make again, I will make the custard more rich and add more Texas Pete. I think some sharp white cheddar would be a good addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
So good. I leave out the hot sauce 'cuz I'm a big ole' sissy. But I serve this for brunch, lunch, or dinner. I'm making two this Christmas, one for my father-in-law and one for my husband's grandfather.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
Made as-written I give this 3 stars. I had higher hopes for it. I carmelized my onions and used a little more than called for. Not bad, but too eggy and "gloopy" for me. I made it better the second time by turning it into a sort of pierogie pie. I added mashed potato flakes, some milk, and shredded cheddar cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
This was excellent! I even froze one of them after baking and reheated, and it was just as good. A lovely onion quiche-type dish. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
We are getting wonderful Vidalia onions here so I wanted to try this for dinner. I halved the recipe and used two large softball onions as well as homemade pie crust. It was delicious! I didn't bother with the paprika. I think you could add any number of things to this like broccoli, spinach, bacon and/or tomatoes. I think you could also play with the cheese like using Swiss. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Oven-Baked Onion Rings

See how to make crispy onion rings in the oven.

Old-Fashioned Onion Rings

Make these delicious, satisfying onion rings from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States