Vidalia Onion Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2005
This pie was great! I did make some changes though. I cut the recipe in half, but used 3/4 cup sour cream, instead of parmesan cheese I used about 1 1/4 cup grated swiss cheese (1 cup in the ipe and 1/4 or more sprinkled on top), and instead of hot sauce I used a sprinkle or two of nutmeg. The changes I made were for personal preference, but the pie turned out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nazareth, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Northampton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2003
Delicious!! Great with beef of any sort....hamburgs on the grill, steak, rib roast. Be adventurous and add crumbled bacon and diced green pepper. Sprinkle with Feta cheese. So glad I tried this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
Tried this recipe and loved it. The only thing I did different was make a crust from ritz crackers and butter. And reserved some to sprinkle on top before baking. Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ledyard, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2004
I cut the recipe in half and used a deep dish pie shell. I added about 1 teaspoon of Worchestershire sauce to the ingredients. I put about ¼ teaspoon of Paprika into the sauce mix and used it liberally on the top. I used freshly ground Parmesan cheese. It was delicious!! Even my husband (who dislikes onions) said this recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2007
This was delicious. I made it for a family get together and even my grandchildren loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2000
i love onion pies, and this is easy and very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetpotato
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: May 4, 2002
I used grated Romano cheese (what I had on hand) and loved the finished product. Pretty and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2007
I made this for an onion cook off at work and won 1st place! It was great and I received sooo many complements. The only thing I changed was I used 5 onions instead of six.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marcie82

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Enumclaw, Washington, USA
Living In: Sugar Hill, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2002
I love this pie, I add the cheese in the mixture as well as sprinkling it on top. Everytime I make this recipe I get rave reviews! I can't wait for Vidalia onion season just so I can make this pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petaluma, California, USA
Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2005
This is a wonderful recipe. It taste delicious and is easy to make. I have shared it with many friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Oven-Baked Onion Rings

See how to make crispy onion rings in the oven.

Old-Fashioned Onion Rings

Make these delicious, satisfying onion rings from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States