Vidalia Onion Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
Been making this for years and it has never failed me (except for the time that I tried making it a little lower fat and used lo-fat sour cream ... don't do that ... it makes a mess!) Always a huge hit no matter who I serve it to. Whole family ADORES it - daughter has been known to hide leftovers at the back of the fridge for herself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Voluntown, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
Used 1/2 cup ricotta and 1/2 cup sour cream instead of 1c sour cream. Also. added a little romano w/ the parmesan. Instant hit w/ the family- everyone had seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
i made this recipe (for 2 pies) so i could take one to my boyfriend's mom's house and one to my mom's house thanksgiving day. besides being very easy to make, everyone at both houses loved it. needless to say, i will be making this recipe again soon! the only thing i would recommend when making them would be to keep out the 1/2 cup of butter - the butter used to cook the onions proved to be enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bunnie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Leesport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: West Lawn, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
Tried this recipe and loved it. The only thing I did different was make a crust from ritz crackers and butter. And reserved some to sprinkle on top before baking. Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ledyard, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
I cut the recipe in half and made 1 pie. Delicious! I added more onions then reduced and carmelized them for that sweet flavor. Added chopped tomato and a few bacon bits. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2007
This was wonderful! Many of my guests were hesitant about trying an onion pie but all of them raved about it! I used an unbaked pie crust since it seemed the amount of time to bake it was quite long and I feared burning a crust that was already baked. I covered the edges of the crust with foil strips. I also omitted the hot sauce. The pie was delicious and looked good too! I'll definitely try this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
What a great recipe. I took it to friends to have with their dinner and they kept the leftovers. The taste was fabulous. Must make it again and soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Chateauguay, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
Made a variation of this as a light meal, and everyone luved it. Included optional sweet peppers and ground beef. Cooked onions and sweet peppers using half the butter specified in recipe and a couple shots of sweet soy sauce. Mixed with the eggs and sour cream, used 1/2 cup cheddar cheese in lieu of Parmesan, and seasoned lightly with Creole seasoning from this site. Browned 3/4 lb. ground beef . . . in a separate bowl mixed beef with a few squirts of BBQ sauce. Poured onion mixture into pie shells filling both half full, followed by a layer of hamburger, and remaining onion mixture as the last layer. Omitted paprika and hot sauce. After switching to the lower oven temp, spread mozzarella cheese over top of pies, and baked until lightly brown on top. A nice change of pace, and ooh so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
This was excellent! I even froze one of them after baking and reheated, and it was just as good. A lovely onion quiche-type dish. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
This is a winner. Family now requests that I bring it to gatherings. Note that the recipe makes two pies, so I either adjust for one pie or make two and throw one in the freezer to bake when I need it. Also, a few crumbled Ritz crackers on top add a nice flavor and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Oven-Baked Onion Rings

See how to make crispy onion rings in the oven.

Old-Fashioned Onion Rings

Make these delicious, satisfying onion rings from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States