Vidalia Onion Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 11, 2004
I cut the recipe in half and used a deep dish pie shell. I added about 1 teaspoon of Worchestershire sauce to the ingredients. I put about ¼ teaspoon of Paprika into the sauce mix and used it liberally on the top. I used freshly ground Parmesan cheese. It was delicious!! Even my husband (who dislikes onions) said this recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2003
Delicious!! Great with beef of any sort....hamburgs on the grill, steak, rib roast. Be adventurous and add crumbled bacon and diced green pepper. Sprinkle with Feta cheese. So glad I tried this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2002
I love this pie, I add the cheese in the mixture as well as sprinkling it on top. Everytime I make this recipe I get rave reviews! I can't wait for Vidalia onion season just so I can make this pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petaluma, California, USA
Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2002
I used grated Romano cheese (what I had on hand) and loved the finished product. Pretty and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2001
The results are pretty good. Lots of chopping of onions but I think since they are vidalias, there is less tears. I had to substitute olive oil for the butter and a shredded romano for the grated parmasean. Next time I will leave out the hot sauce; the pie needs something else, maybe sundried tomatoes or calamata olives, not hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2000
Very simple! And I agree that adding just the right cheese makes this really super!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2000
It was a good recipe but I did feel that it needed some pizzaz. I am an onion lover, but I found it rather bland. I would try it again, but spice it up a little, maybe add some zesty cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2000
i love onion pies, and this is easy and very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetpotato
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

Displaying results 51-58 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Oven-Baked Onion Rings

See how to make crispy onion rings in the oven.

Old-Fashioned Onion Rings

Make these delicious, satisfying onion rings from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States