Vidalia Onion Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
Y-U-M! My favorite thing about this recipe is that I make about 8 at a time, cook them all, and stick them in the freezer. I always have a ready-made dish for any event that requires me to bring something....and everyone LOVES it! Good hot or even cold!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by inounvme
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
Very good. I topped the pie with cooked bacon crumbled and only a bottom crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inounvme

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
I thought it worked great as a side. We loved it ! We had an all veggie dinner: grilled corn; grilled zucchini; and the vidalia onion pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
Excellent. Sort of like a quiche. I put lattice work over the top to fool my kids into thinking we were having "pie" for dinner on april fools day. This would be better as a brunch meal or add maybe some chopped ham to make it a main dinner dish. Dosent work really well as a side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffin Mom N Garlic Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmerton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
My father requested that I make an onion pie. I had NEVER heard of an onion pie and to be honest, it did not sound good at all. After making this the first one, I did an experiment and added Italian Turkey Sausage. That was the worst thing I could have done. Ever since then his buddies have requested one after another and another.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
Great tasting, easy to make, but was surprised at how "eggy" this dish was. Next time, I will serve it at a brunch instead of a sidedish at dinner. Must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
I cut the recipe in half and made 1 pie. Delicious! I added more onions then reduced and carmelized them for that sweet flavor. Added chopped tomato and a few bacon bits. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
Been making this for years and it has never failed me (except for the time that I tried making it a little lower fat and used lo-fat sour cream ... don't do that ... it makes a mess!) Always a huge hit no matter who I serve it to. Whole family ADORES it - daughter has been known to hide leftovers at the back of the fridge for herself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Voluntown, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
What a great recipe. I took it to friends to have with their dinner and they kept the leftovers. The taste was fabulous. Must make it again and soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Chateauguay, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2008
If you do not like onions, you will not like this recipe. I hoped the ingredients would come together in some interesting way, but it just tastes like a quiche with too many onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Oven-Baked Onion Rings

See how to make crispy onion rings in the oven.

Old-Fashioned Onion Rings

Make these delicious, satisfying onion rings from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States