Vidalia Onion Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
Y-U-M! My favorite thing about this recipe is that I make about 8 at a time, cook them all, and stick them in the freezer. I always have a ready-made dish for any event that requires me to bring something....and everyone LOVES it! Good hot or even cold!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by inounvme
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
Very good. I topped the pie with cooked bacon crumbled and only a bottom crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inounvme

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
I thought it worked great as a side. We loved it ! We had an all veggie dinner: grilled corn; grilled zucchini; and the vidalia onion pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
Excellent. Sort of like a quiche. I put lattice work over the top to fool my kids into thinking we were having "pie" for dinner on april fools day. This would be better as a brunch meal or add maybe some chopped ham to make it a main dinner dish. Dosent work really well as a side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffin Mom N Garlic Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmerton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
My father requested that I make an onion pie. I had NEVER heard of an onion pie and to be honest, it did not sound good at all. After making this the first one, I did an experiment and added Italian Turkey Sausage. That was the worst thing I could have done. Ever since then his buddies have requested one after another and another.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
Great tasting, easy to make, but was surprised at how "eggy" this dish was. Next time, I will serve it at a brunch instead of a sidedish at dinner. Must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
I cut the recipe in half and made 1 pie. Delicious! I added more onions then reduced and carmelized them for that sweet flavor. Added chopped tomato and a few bacon bits. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
Been making this for years and it has never failed me (except for the time that I tried making it a little lower fat and used lo-fat sour cream ... don't do that ... it makes a mess!) Always a huge hit no matter who I serve it to. Whole family ADORES it - daughter has been known to hide leftovers at the back of the fridge for herself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Voluntown, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
What a great recipe. I took it to friends to have with their dinner and they kept the leftovers. The taste was fabulous. Must make it again and soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Chateauguay, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2008
If you do not like onions, you will not like this recipe. I hoped the ingredients would come together in some interesting way, but it just tastes like a quiche with too many onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Oven-Baked Onion Rings

See how to make crispy onion rings in the oven.

Old-Fashioned Onion Rings

Make these delicious, satisfying onion rings from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States