Vidalia Heaven Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2002
I do one like this with an exception - since my husband and I are on Weight Watchers, I substitute balsamic vinegar for the butter. Makes a heavenly match with the onion and the bouillon! I also usually use a teaspoon of granulated bouillon instead of the cube. Husband LOVES this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2002
Wow!! I didn't have a vidalia or even better a Texas 1015 onion on hand, so I just used a generic yellow onion. I followed the advice of another poster and used good balsamic vinegar instead of butter because we were going to have mushrooms sauted in butter w/ our grilled ribeyes. I also added minced garlic w/ the beef cube because nothing is done w/o garlic! Ha! Ha! I double foiled it so no juice would leak. It was heavenly!!! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHERYLNLYTTON

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2006
This was very good. I did add 2 whole cloves of garlic (that I crushed). I liked the addition of the beef bullion. I don't think it tasted like French Onion Soup (like others mentioned), but it was delicious. Had a guest and they said it was good. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
Delightful. Baked in oven at 400° for 1 hr., and upped it to 450° for an extra 15 min. Did two Vidalia onions – 1 w/ butter per recipe and the other w/ balsamic vinegar substituted for the butter as suggested by at least two reviewers. Follow the recipe for a richer tasting dish, and it receives a 5* rating. The one w/ balsamic vinegar gets 4*. I experimented w/ Tiger Sauce on a portion, and next go round may add that in the cored out center w/ a pat of butter. If you like caramelized onions, give this a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
I used only two onions, sprayed the bottom of the foil with Pam and added some minced garlic. I poked some holes in the foil to allow steam to escape. Delicious - tastes just like french onion soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2002
I make these onions at almost every cookout. I have modified the recipe to add a little brown sugar and to add different flavors such as garlic, chicken boullion, crushed red pepper,etc... These are SO easy and if you have an onion lover in the house, they will do anything for you, if you would just make those grilled onions again. A smash hit at any dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
WOW What a hit. Served it with Grilled Beef tenderloin from this site. Very good. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2004
NUMMY ,NUMMY, NUMMY...I'VE MADE THESE SEVERAL TIMES-GREAT JUST AS THEY ARE AND EASY TO DRESS UP DEPENDING ON WHAT YOU'RE HAVING THEM WITH-A DICED GARLIC CLOVE ADDED IS ALSO DELICIOUS OR I HAVE EVEN WRAPPED THEM IN BACON TO COOK THEM!!GREAT RECIPE-YOU CAN'T GO WRONG(ALSO 1 LG VIDALIA FOR ME DID GREAT AT THE 60 MINUTE TIME FRAME)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Liverpool, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
use much less bouillion
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
I found you can use any onion you want.... They are delics!!!!! Can also use chichen instead of beef!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by georgett

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Grill Corn on the Cob

See an easy way to grill fresh corn on the cob.

How to Make Grilled Fruit Skewers

Skewered strawberries, mangoes, papayas, and pineapples all excel on the grill.

Grilled Romaine

Grilling romaine lettuce gives it a delicious kick in the pants.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States