Victory Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
I did not like the orange hint but otherwise they were brilliant. Very chewy and loved the spice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lana

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2009
This was delicous. I increased the orange zest and cayenne as suggested, and my only complant is that it isn't chocolatey enough. I think I will add another ounce of chocolate next time, and there will definitly be a next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by barncat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
I was looking for hazelnut recipes when I found this one for brownies.I loved this recipe, as did everyone that tried them. I doubled the recipe to fit a 9 x 13 pan and added extra orange zest and cayenne as well as the leftover hazelnuts from a homemade frangelico recipe.(I couldnt bear to waste them them)Extra Bitter chocolate didnt hurt it either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Junebug

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
I showed these to one of my coworkers and she made us a batch. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOTTSBELA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
For those who didn't even TRY the recipe but rated it: TRY IT! These brownies were really good. I too used walnuts instead of hazelnuts. They were very very good and fudgy. yumm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinglovee!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
Great! Added a LOT more orange and just enough cayenne to taste. Gave them out to my supervisors at work as belated Christmas/New Years gifts and they were received very well...thanks for a great recipe! Will be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medical Lake, Washington, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
I've made this recipe twice. Second time I added just a bit more cayenne because the first time it was not even noticeable. With a bit more cayenne it leaves more of a spicy tail on the way down. Good stuff either way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by izzy_uproar

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
Love Love Love chili plus chocolate. These hit the spot for me. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seattle Dad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Owosso, Michigan, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
my review has nothing to do with politics .i just wasnt crazy about the texture or flavor sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda Baron

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moosup, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christine M
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
I thought these were very good. I used walnuts instead of hazelnuts - only because I was running short on time and didn't feel like removing the skins from the hazelnuts. I look forward to using them next time, though, as I think they would have been better. The brownies are both cakelike and fudgy at the same time (which I love!) and although I didn't mind the cayenne and orange background flavors, I think I would have preferred one or the other, but not both. I think next time I'll omit the orange zest and add a pinch of cinnamon, as cayenne and cinnamon give chocolate a more Mexican/Mayan flare to me. Great recipe! Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Brooke's Best Bombshell Brownies

See how to make rich, fudgy brownies that are truly the bomb.

Best Brownies

Moist and fudgy, these 5-star brownies are deliciously decadent.

Chocolate Mint Brownies

See the easiest way to make dense, chewy-style chocolate brownies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States