Victory Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
If you are considering making these brownies, please take the bad reviews with the grain of pettiness and silliness they deserve (this recipe was originally named 'Barack OBrownies,' which quickly brought on some bad reviews by people who have oboviously not tried the recipe but wanted to see their 'votes' count somewhere...). These brownies are VERY good, with the potential of being excellent. The fudgy texture of mine was perfect after 35 minutes @ 350. My only complaint is that the cayenne and orange flavors as written are far too subtle, to the point of being unnoticeable - so you may want to play with that a little. I doubled the cayenne and quadrupled the orange zest and ended up with wonderful dark chocolatey, orangey brownies that I will be making as my chocolate dessert at Thanksgiving. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
Delicious. Just like our victory.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gresham, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Photo by Christine M
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
I thought these were very good. I used walnuts instead of hazelnuts - only because I was running short on time and didn't feel like removing the skins from the hazelnuts. I look forward to using them next time, though, as I think they would have been better. The brownies are both cakelike and fudgy at the same time (which I love!) and although I didn't mind the cayenne and orange background flavors, I think I would have preferred one or the other, but not both. I think next time I'll omit the orange zest and add a pinch of cinnamon, as cayenne and cinnamon give chocolate a more Mexican/Mayan flare to me. Great recipe! Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
definitely not the best brownie recipe. the texture was really weird.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
A little fudgy, I prefer chewy but not fudge in a brownie. The taste was lovely. I have been trying a lot of chocolate variations. The chili pepper and chocolate is not only traditional (think Mayan, but also very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Syd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Arthur, Texas, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
I was looking for hazelnut recipes when I found this one for brownies.I loved this recipe, as did everyone that tried them. I doubled the recipe to fit a 9 x 13 pan and added extra orange zest and cayenne as well as the leftover hazelnuts from a homemade frangelico recipe.(I couldnt bear to waste them them)Extra Bitter chocolate didnt hurt it either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Junebug

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
For those who didn't even TRY the recipe but rated it: TRY IT! These brownies were really good. I too used walnuts instead of hazelnuts. They were very very good and fudgy. yumm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinglovee!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
my review has nothing to do with politics .i just wasnt crazy about the texture or flavor sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moosup, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
I showed these to one of my coworkers and she made us a batch. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOTTSBELA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
Love Love Love chili plus chocolate. These hit the spot for me. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seattle Dad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Owosso, Michigan, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Brownies

Moist and fudgy, these 5-star brownies are deliciously decadent.

Brooke's Best Bombshell Brownies

See how to make rich, fudgy brownies that are truly the bomb.

Chocolate Mint Brownies

See the easiest way to make dense, chewy-style chocolate brownies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States