Victory Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
If you are considering making these brownies, please take the bad reviews with the grain of pettiness and silliness they deserve (this recipe was originally named 'Barack OBrownies,' which quickly brought on some bad reviews by people who have oboviously not tried the recipe but wanted to see their 'votes' count somewhere...). These brownies are VERY good, with the potential of being excellent. The fudgy texture of mine was perfect after 35 minutes @ 350. My only complaint is that the cayenne and orange flavors as written are far too subtle, to the point of being unnoticeable - so you may want to play with that a little. I doubled the cayenne and quadrupled the orange zest and ended up with wonderful dark chocolatey, orangey brownies that I will be making as my chocolate dessert at Thanksgiving. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
Why did you change the name of the recipe? Followed the recipe exactly - strange taste and unusual texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
A little fudgy, I prefer chewy but not fudge in a brownie. The taste was lovely. I have been trying a lot of chocolate variations. The chili pepper and chocolate is not only traditional (think Mayan, but also very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Syd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Arthur, Texas, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
Sweet and chocolaty--I loved the hazelnuts. These are on the cakey end of the cakey-fudgy brownie spectrum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cheesemite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coldwater, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
I really liked the flavor of the hazelnuts and orange with the chocolate. The flavors are a little unexpected, yet delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SeattleFarmersMarketGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
Delicious. Just like our victory.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gresham, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
Very strange tasting brownie--would not make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
definitely not the best brownie recipe. the texture was really weird.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-18 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chunky Cheesecake Brownies

Decadent, rich, chocolaty dessert that's a combination of brownies and cheesecake

Brooke's Best Bombshell Brownies

See how to make rich, fudgy brownies that are truly the bomb.

Best Brownies

Moist and fudgy, these 5-star brownies are deliciously decadent.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States