Victoria Sponge Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2015
creates one heavy and extremely greasy mess. Nowhere near as much butter is needed, I just wish I had read the reviews. It took double the time to cook through and it was so greasy and bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by David
Reviewed: May 15, 2015
The quantity of butter is excessive. The cake was way too sweet and wouldn't cook thoroughly. Never again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2015
Way, way too much butter. I cut butter amount in half keeping other ingredients the same. Still came out like a fried cake with butter foam around the edges. 1/4 the amount of butter should be about right. Still tasted good despite the greasy donut texture. Does anyone edit these recipes?? Steps 3 and 4 essentially the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
Traveling back & forth to the Northern England, when there I have learned that British definitions of foods can be worlds apart from the USA. Trust me, it has taken a lot of getting used to cooking "his way" The texture of British "sponge" is just that, looks like a sponge when cut. Baked items are nowhere near as sweetened as ours. They use a lot of custard and double cream(whipping cream)and jams to add the sweetness. This was originated for "English Tea Time", think of the sweetness of a scone, jams and preserves are used with those also. The biggest thing I learned is that just about everything over there is made with self-rising flour. The key to whether using the baking powder with all purpose flour or self rising, fold in! over mixing, or hard mixing will lose the rise. ***********yes, for this recipe, USE 1/2 BUTTER. ****will rise better, be lighter with no greasiness
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms. gayle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: West Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hungry

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
I followed some other advice and cut down on the butter. I made whipped cream to frost the top and added fresh strawberries. I served it at a church party, and I received lots of compliments including they thought I bought it from a bakery! Only complaint was there wasn't enough to go around. I was requested to make it again, and I plan on it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Boynton Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
After tasting the cake I understood why it was Queen Victoria cake It is really very tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by byGilles

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Orange, California, USA
Reviewed: May 22, 2014
Fantastic ??????
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
My husband made this yesterday and there was none left after we were done. I wouldn't change a thing. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Living In: Greenwood Lake, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Diana's Guinness® Chocolate Cake

An ultra dark, ultra rich chocolate cake with a luscious chocolate icing.

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States