Victoria Sponge Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
I followed some other advice and cut down on the butter. I made whipped cream to frost the top and added fresh strawberries. I served it at a church party, and I received lots of compliments including they thought I bought it from a bakery! Only complaint was there wasn't enough to go around. I was requested to make it again, and I plan on it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Boynton Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
After tasting the cake I understood why it was Queen Victoria cake It is really very tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by byGilles

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Orange, California, USA
Reviewed: May 22, 2014
Fantastic ??????
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
My husband made this yesterday and there was none left after we were done. I wouldn't change a thing. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetMary

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
I alternate the butter with half cup of oil, reduced the sugar into 2/3 and added a half cup of grated coconut and it comes out delicious, the rating is after the alternation :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
I made this cake for my grandparents without any frosting and just added raisins and walnuts. Everyone present loved it, especially my grandparents! It was so fluffy, soft, and one of the best Victorian sponges. Could make this absolutely scrumptious cake billions of times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mumbai, Maharashtra, India

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
It wasn't good. It didnt seem like it was supposed to be made like that. sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
Excellent recipe! I've been attempting to bake cakes from scratch for years and this was the first time it was successful! Cake was absolutely delicious. Instead of using 1 cup of confectioner's sugar, I did 1/2 confectioner's with 1/2 white sugar, and substituted the vanilla extract with pure lemon extract. Very easy to make and quick too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
The cake was actually 4 stars, but I only used half of the amount of butter - actually, I used vegetable spread - suggested so I suppose that it wouldn't have been that nice if I had just followed the recipe, so I have to take a star off for that. This aside, I followed the method and, based on the result, I have to say that it was faultless. The cakes were fluffy and light without the need for separating a silly number of eggs. I didn't actually make a Victoria sponge but used this as the basis for a sponge rainbow cake and will now always refer to this when trying different sponge cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
WOW! After failing (miserably) at another recipe for sponge cake for a strawberry short cake I came upon this jewel. To be honest, it's idiot proof. I baked my 4 servings in a muffin pan and they came out fabulous! They are soft and spongey with a light, sweet buttery crumb. It's a great recipe and I can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Diana's Guinness® Chocolate Cake

An ultra dark, ultra rich chocolate cake with a luscious chocolate icing.

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States