Victoria Sponge Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
Baking time is definitely not enough..when i skewered it after 20 mins, skewer came out covered and then the cake collapsed and went flat (due to hole made by skewer). Baking time needed: at least 30 mins at 200 Degs Celcius. Was really disappointed. One good thing: the cake turned out quite yummy despite being flat and slightly burnt on the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2008
Very heavy cake that needs a sauce. I made a blueberry & blackberry sauce. It was good, but not something you'd make often. Don't know if I'll make again or not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
This came out so oily and tasteless. I really didn't like it took an extra 15min. to bake. When i served it no one finished it. I definiately won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
This was a wonderful cake. My fiancee hates icing-full cakes, and this was perfect for his birthday. Put some strawberry sauce on top, and he wanted more and more. It just went very flat, after I took it from the oven, though. Perhaps more time next time?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
I like this cake, although it's heavier than a traditional sponge. Instead of cream or jam, etc, I brushed some melted butter on top and sprinkled on a mixture of cinnamon and sugar. A lovely cake to have with tea or coffee. :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Adelaide, South Australia, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
I'd never made Victoria Sponge before, but this was seriously easy to make. I sliced it horizonally and filled the centre with M & S strawberry jam and real whipped cream. My English friend declared it fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shealuna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
do'nt know what I did wrong, but it would not cook! 45 mins...still uncooked in centre, lovely taste though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2007
This is an ok cake. It didn't rise any when I made it (granted I was in Denmark so the altitude may have had something). It also really needs the jam inside otherwise it is a bland boring cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lambert, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
I made this for my fiance the other night and was received well! Easy to make and it tastes good :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-49 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Diana's Guinness® Chocolate Cake

An ultra dark, ultra rich chocolate cake with a luscious chocolate icing.

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States