Victoria Sponge Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 27, 2013
Excellent recipe! I've been attempting to bake cakes from scratch for years and this was the first time it was successful! Cake was absolutely delicious. Instead of using 1 cup of confectioner's sugar, I did 1/2 confectioner's with 1/2 white sugar, and substituted the vanilla extract with pure lemon extract. Very easy to make and quick too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
The cake was actually 4 stars, but I only used half of the amount of butter - actually, I used vegetable spread - suggested so I suppose that it wouldn't have been that nice if I had just followed the recipe, so I have to take a star off for that. This aside, I followed the method and, based on the result, I have to say that it was faultless. The cakes were fluffy and light without the need for separating a silly number of eggs. I didn't actually make a Victoria sponge but used this as the basis for a sponge rainbow cake and will now always refer to this when trying different sponge cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
WOW! After failing (miserably) at another recipe for sponge cake for a strawberry short cake I came upon this jewel. To be honest, it's idiot proof. I baked my 4 servings in a muffin pan and they came out fabulous! They are soft and spongey with a light, sweet buttery crumb. It's a great recipe and I can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
I followed the recipe, but for some reason it came out greasy you can wring out the grease I don't know were I went wrong. it tastes good I'm going to try again because I made it once before and it was great it just this time it went wrong.the five stars is from the last time I made it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
It was the best sponge cake I ever had and it is easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
didnt rise, pretty poor cake realy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunflower1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mansfield, Nottinghamshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
I struggled with this recipe a bit. Took several tries to bake it to the perfect consistency. Must try again and pay better attention!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
A very delicious sponge cake substitute for those of us who do not feel like they have time or eggs to use 6 separated eggs in a recipe, which is what most real sponge cakes call for. I followed the recipe except used only 1/2 the amount of butter, as in 1 stick instead of 1 cup, which seemed excessive when I first read the recipe. I am wondering if there was a typo and she meant to say 1 stick. It is very good for the purpose for which I used it: strawberry shortcake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
I followed the recipe to the letter and half of it stuck to the bottom of the pan despite the parchment paper I used and it was so greasy inside and heavy. I have no idea what went wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
Really bad I'm sorry but this wasn't sponge cake it was way to floury and was way to chewy sorry but not at all what I expected
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Diana's Guinness® Chocolate Cake

An ultra dark, ultra rich chocolate cake with a luscious chocolate icing.

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States